September 18, 2012

  • Crop and colors/ Pulling up carotts for soup and stew

      Récolte et couleurs.
     Crop and colours.

     

    English version below the pictures

     

     

      Hier ,Mercredi 12 Septembre alors que je réparais un mur en briques , ma femme  Janine revenait du jardin avec quelques légumes dans une caissette . Leur belle couleur me frappa et je lui demandais d’en prendre une photo. Bien sûr ils ne sont ni gros ni abondants mais leur couleur me semblait excitante
     Cette année le jardin a souffert avec un mauvais temps en Juillet . Nous avons eu trois tempêtes avec de violentes averses et même de la grêle ! Les pommes de terre et les tomates ont été abîmées et attaquées par le mildiou. Cependant nous avons eu des haricots verts stérilisés pour une part et des cornichons conservés dans du vinaigre à la cave .

       Les betteraves rouges commencent à grossir et les carottes ont été cultivée sous voile pour les protéger de la mouche de la carotte , petit papillon qui pond ses œufs sur le collet ce qui amène des « vers «  dans la racine . Le céleri-rave et les choux sont satisfaisants. Au total nous avons eu quelques satisfactions avec le jardin mais la culture a été plus difficile que d’ordinaire. En ce moment notre sol argileux est dur comme du béton mais la puissance végétale est si grande !

        Mais plus que de la production , notre plaisir vient principalement pour nous deux d’être là en plein air, de vivre avec les cycles des saisons et leurs couleurs, de travailler la terre et de voir les merveilles de la germination et de la croissance des végétaux.

    SDC11229

     Carrots , cabbage , young red beets , celery rave 
    Carottes, chou tête de pierre ,jeunes betteraves rouges et céleri rave Photo Janine Fauquet 12 Septembre 2012 


    SDC11232
    In the cellar : above green beans , below ; gherkins and red beet preserved in vinegar
    A la cave , en haut haricots verts en conserve, en bas cornichins et betteraves rouges dans le vinaigre  Photo M fauquet

     

    SDC11237
    N 'oublions pas les belle pommes rouges . Do not forget the beautiful red apples . M fauquet September 12,2012

     

     

      Yesterday, Wednesday September 12 , while I was busy to repair a bricks  wall, my wife Janine came back from the garden with some veggies in a crate . Their  beautiful colour hit my eyes and I asked her to take a photo. Of course they are not big and abundant but their colours looked exciting to me
    .
      This year the garden suffered with the bad weather in July. . We got three storms with violent showers and even hail!  Potatoes and tomatoes have been ruined and attacked by the Mildew . However we got green beans that have been preserved for a part , gherkins preserved in vinegar in the cellar.

      The red beets start to take some weight , Carotts have been grown below a veil to protect them against the flies that lay upon them giving worms in the root . The celery-rave and the cabbages are satisfying. At the total we got some satisfactions with the garden but the growing has been harder than usual . At this time the clay sol look a bit like concrete but the vegetal power is so high!

     
    But more than from the production, our satisfaction comes principally from the pleasure for both of us to be there in open air, to live with  the cycles of the seasons and their colours, to work the ground , to see the wonder of the growing of the veggies..

     

     I wonder if you share my genuine amazement, perhaps a bit naive, of the simple beauty and  taste of the produces of the ground and the work of man and woman

    ____________________________

     

    UP DATE 18th of September2012

     

    Arrachage des carottes

    Pulling up of carotts.


    Samedi dernier, Janine était dans le jardin pendant que je réparais des volets « aussi jeunes que moi" . Elle m'avait dit: «Je m’en  vais cueillir des mûres. . Plus tard, toujours perché sur mon escabeau, je réalisais, qu’il y avait un moment qu’elle était partie. Je suis allé avec l'appareil photo et l'ai surprise en pleine action. Elle arrachait des carottes pour la soupe et un ragoût. La première photo est floue à cause de la rapidité du travail. Vous savez le sol est un vrai béton, comme quelques photos le montrent, aussi cela nécessite un effort violent. La couleur des carottes était attrayante  et le lendemain, Dimanche à midi, nous avons mangé un savoureux ragoût de boeuf cuit au vin rouge (Boeuf bourguignon) avec les carottes, le céleri rave et les poireaux du jardin. Il était accompagné d'un bon vin de Bordeaux.
      Parfois, je me dis que je suis un homme heureux

    restauration de volet  15 sept 2012
     Always something to repair or in maintenance

    arrachage carottes (J ) 15-9-2012t
    arrachage carottes  15 sept 2012  2

    carottes septembre 2012 3

      Last Saturday Janine was in the garden while I repaired "as young as me" shutters. She told me “I am going to pick some blackberries” . Later , always perched on my stepladder I realized it was a while she was there . I went with the camera and surprised her in action. She was pulling up some carrots for the soup and a stew.  The first photo is blur because of the speed of the work.  You know the ground is a true concrete, as some photos show it, so this needs a violent effort . The color of the carrots was exciting and the day after, Sunday at midday, we ate a tasty stew of beef cooked in red wine ( Boeuf bourguignon) with those carotts, celery rave and leeks from the garden. It was accompanied by a good wine of Bordeaux .
      Sometimes I tell myself I am a happy man

     

     

Comments (102)

  • It's been a difficult year here for growing things also, the season started out hotter than hades and after that we had too much rain and things tended to get rotten, except for the tomatoes we've not put any up for the winter but we have had what we needed on a daily basis :yes: I'm thankful for that :spinning: However our pecan tree has so many nuts that the limbs are breaking from the weight :eek:

    Your bounty is "de toute beauté" especially les carottes (they are my favorite) ilym :heartbeat:

  • That is good to see!!! My two most abundant crops this year were the sunflower seeds, and the mints and herbs. Everything else either got taken over by bugs, or drought. For some reason watering with the hose just does not compare to a good soaking rain storm! Oh, and we did get around five pounds of potatoes also. But nothing near last years two big buckets full!

    Your apple tree looks spectacular!!!! :goodjob:

  • Fresh produce makes one feel good just to see. I never cared about it as a child, and disliked having to tag along to the Chinatown market on Saturdays with the family, but now that seems like such a silly, incomprehensible attitude.

  • Love the pictures-makes me what to eat a big salad for supper .

  • I wish the taste of the beets pickled matched their beautiful color!! I'm sure the vegetables from your own garden taste much better than the ones from the market - they have the special ingredient - Love!

  • Absolutely LOVE fresh veggies!  By the way ~ just put a new song on my site ~ hope you like it just as much as the other one ~

  • Nice-looking produce! Especially the apples. I have never seen celery with a big root before. Do you use the root?

    When I was young, my dad sometimes made me work in the garden. I didn't like the work, but as an adult enjoyed seeing a nice garden that I had helped with.

    I have hated beets since I was a child. My parents had trouble finding other vegetables when we lived in the south of Colombia. My dad would force me to eat them. One night I had a nightmare about a slice of beet getting up and walking around my plate on four legs. After that I refused to eat them no matter what my dad did.

  • Answer to Roadkill Spatula above :  yes we eat the root of celery-rave ( There is another variety of celery whom we eat only the leaves ( put in the soup )

  • First I want to say beautiful harvest from your garden. Nothing is better than what we grow ourselves. You and Janine enjoy your bounty.
    Have a wonderful week end Michel.

  • "But more than from the production, our satisfaction comes principally from the pleasure for both of us to be there in open air, to live with the cycles of the seasons and their colours, to work the ground , to see the wonder of the growing of the veggies.." I think this says it beautifully, Michel. There is nothing quite as beautiful as being one with the land and nature.

  • You must have a large garden to produce such a big bounty! It isn't evident you had a rough season--those vegetables look hearty!
    I had to look up celery-rave. I wonder how you typically use it?

  • We have about 10 apple trees, and only 1 apple this year. We had such warm weather early that the trees bloomed, and after that we had some freezes. There's always next year. Your apples look beautiful. Do your spray them?

  • Yes, I do share your amazement and wonder. Your pictures are expressive of it.

  • Oh, I have never grown any plants but I can totally relate to your joy and excitement. Those are the littlest things in nature that amaze us in our everyday lives.

  • I am pretty sure that you have noticed climate change. Fortunately you have planted many different kinds of plants and have had some not produce and some still producing.

    Maybe your blog will make other people aware of growing things even though the weather is changing.

  • wow.. so cool..

  • How beautiful the veggies in the basket are , but they remind me od the coming automn .... oh well, the automn is also a nice time and the leaves have to fall down sometimes.
    Lot of work but the taste of your soups and stews must be wonderful.
    Thanks for the nice congrats. it is nice to be Opa (Aiau in Sardinian).

    Amitié

    Carlo

  • TY so very much Michel for your comments on our day at the ocean with TD.

  • TY so much for the first birthday wishes Michel:)

  • It is amazing, and not naive, at the bounty the ground - and the work that goes with it - can provide

  •  Answer to PPhilip above: Yes we cannot not garden like 20 years ago : too many brusque  changes of weather , seasons less marked in my area  and many bugs and mushrooms . We have to adapt, it is sure without use chemicals

  • One of the bigest pleasures is being able to grow and harvest ones own fruit and veggies. Thank you for sharing yiur humble harvest in photos.

  • RYC  to carlo above :The Sardinian word aiau makes me think of the French word aïeul = grrandfather

  • You and Janine renew my faith in gardening and life, love and appreciation. I so cherish your blogs!

  • Michel I grew up around gardens. I admire you and Janine and the work that you are able to do.

    My father never understood why I didn't have a garden here in TX. I told him about the tomato worms that wiped my little plants out the second year and found us again the 3rd time. With our heat, soil and drought restrictions in this city one has to know what they are doing. I didn't. My husband does not like to 'dig' and now with my back that is out.

    So I shall enjoy reading about your garden and seeing the results.

  • You find great joy and satisfaction in your gardening.  I understand, and appreciate your ventures.  My little plants in pots give me a lot of pleasure, too.  On Sunday, I must bring them inside as rain and wind will come on Monday.

  • This stuff is down t earth, hats off buds out there.
    Kliplist Bookmarks

  • What a beautiful story! I love vegetables, especially beets. My mother hated them so I didn't taste them until I went to camp one summer. The produce is indeed beautiful and yes, food from a garden is definitely much better!

  • Answer to ItzaRoos  above about the use of celery rave by my wife  She boils celery roots ( raves) cut in bits or slices  in water until tender.  Then she places the slices in an oven proof dish. and adds fresh cream and sprinkle with cheese grated ( parmesan, Gruyère ). Put in an oven until the surface be gold -brown . It is a delight 
     We eat aslo the roots of celery, raw but.grated into thin straps with a dressing ( vinegar, oil etc  ) like an entrée

  • Both Babs and I had disappointing gardens this year as well. My normally abundant heirloom tomatoes failed completely, the squash was attacked by insects, the peppers never put on fruit, even the nectarine tree failed to produce. Thankfully, the green beans were abundant and I'm still eating onions and potatoes that I harvested in the spring. I think maybe I will give my soil and myself a rest next year. This year has taught me sympathy for the farmer whose living depends on his crop.

  • Lovely colorful picture! Far nicer than my failed crops this year. Those are very nice carrots for clay soil, which is what I have here, by the way.

    The apples look so pretty, a delight to come. Isn't nice how apples can please all the senses? They smell wonderful, they have cool smooth skins that fit satusfyingly in the hand, they taste good, they make a satisfying crunch when eaten, and they delight the eyes! As if that is not enough, they have wonderful flowers in the spring, satisfying shade in summer, fruit in fall, and hope for the winter!

  • :wave:Beautiful crop....Beautiful pictures....And I wish we had a garden now!! :sunny:

  • i really enjoy cabbage and other foods in the cabbage family but not able to grow them here , to hot .  garden does not do well in this dry heat even watering everyday. a few things grow like rosemary, chives, sweet basil and lemon basil and english thyme and tomatoes.  green beans are small and mostly vines. but we have great luck with fruit trees, and grapes.

  • The wonders of the natural world that God has given is beyond compare. Taking time to see through our soul is all important. Loving the earth is loving everything. Love, Nancy

  • It is a shame that nature has been rough on the vegetation this past year, but it would appear you prepared yourselves well for the harsh conditions and you have made the best of a less than ideal situation. I admire the work that you and Janine have done to gain a decent crop.

    I myself have never had much of a "green thumb" (nor does Wendy), but my Mom has always enjoyed the pleasures of gardening. Mostly she will grow tomatoes.

    Cheers, my friend!

  • I love the home grown vegetables. Our weather has suffered also because of the heat. But I got some great aubergines and Okra(lady fingers, hot chili peppers and tomatoes. I have posted their photos in my blog. I love to see the colors too.

  • I share your amazement. A really beautiful blog!

  • Moi aussi j'ai commence un jardin cette annee. J'adore les betteraves rouges!

  • We have a saying at the school where I work... "Eat your colours every day"... it encourages the children to eat a variety of healthy food. Your garden could be on our poster!

  • The weather here stressed many vegetables in my gardens as well, but the beans this year were excellent, bountiful, tender and sweet, and the tomatoes were also prolific. The squash and cucumbers struggled. I have no photos, only a happy mouth and full stomach.

    Gardening is a complete way to be healthy.

  • Couleurs Santé pour toute la famille! :sunny:
    Bravo pour vos talents de cultivateurs! Et miracles de notre Mère la Terre!
    Amitiés :heartbeat:

  • Yes, the veggies in the blue bin are very colorful! You were well rewarded for your work in the garden. We have had lots of tomatoes from ours. We have fixed 3 Sunday dinners worth of green beans plus I canned 4 quarts of green beans that I will save for Thanksgiving dinner in November. Oh and your apple tree..reminds me that long ago I painted a canvas that had and apple tree like this one with a bird feeder in it that was at my Grandmother's home.

  • Yes, I do share your amazement with produce from gardens and the work that one can do to raise such. It is not easy if weather does not cooperate. You have had to deal with severe storms, but in the states in various places, it has been lack of rain, severe drought that has decreased crop output. At various times in my life, I have tried to grow vegetables, such as green beans, peas, carrots. During the summers during my childhood, my family visited other family members who grew some of their food. I think that's why I appreciate home grown produce.  ~~Blessings & Cheers

  • It looks like in spite of storms you are ready for winter and enjoying a lovely harvest!

  • those veggies look great.. that's one of my favorite things of summer!

  • Merci Michel. I know I can always count on you to respond to my posts. RYC: "I remember also an Irish festival .This is probably the same one." They are different. The Irish festival is North Texas Irish Festival which takes place on first full weekend of March every year in Dallas at our "Fair Park". The one in September is CelticFest in Jackson, Mississippi. It is always the first full weekend after our Labor Day Holiday (1st Monday in Sept.) I have not been involved as a performer at N. TX Irish Festival since its very early days, but I have been a volunteer with it for 26 years. However. In a few recent years, I did present my "Tracing Celtic Music" workshop there, except for 2012 in which no workshops were scheduled. Next up is an Irish retreat at the end of October. I've been attending that one for maybe 4-5 years (?).

  • TY so very much for your kind comments on my fall is here post Michel.

  • Your garden did indeed provide tasty treats for when the snowflakes fly.  Not many things did well in my garden either because of the weather.  Cabbage and onion when nuts.  Tomato plants a big disappointment, green peppers too.  Eggplants died on me.  The Swiss Chard bolted and went to seed, but now I have lovely leaves growing.  That is the only thing left in the garden and will remain there until the frosts take them out.  I have my supply of cabbage soup made and in the freezer.  Have lots of onions to use for the next 2 to 3 months.  Colors of the garden produce are always lovely to look at and yours are colorful....................love Marilyn

  • RYC: Aiau (Grandfather) has probably the same origin as aïeul: from the latin 'Avus'.
    In Sardinia thee are people who use the word 'Nannai'. This word is very old, older than Latin I think.
    Amitié

    Carlo

    Ps: No news from Banyuls?

  • [update] Boeuf bourguignon—mmm. Simple and wholesome

  • You are a happy man. Those carrots look delicious, and I can imagine how wonderful a French boeuf bourguignon would be.

    With a lovely old house like yours, there is always a lot of work. I'm working on mine to get it ready to sell. It was built in the 1960s. I'm going to install a granite countertop and a new cabinet, and I need to paint several rooms.

  • Mornin Glorie ....I've been watching the movie "Julie and Julia" and have become very interested in making the recipes from Julia Childs Book "Mastering the Art of French Cooking" I think I'll start with the "Boeuf Bourguignon" although the instructions say it's difficult, it looks delicious :yes: If you are not a happy man then there may not be any happy men anywhere :sunny: ilym :heartbeat: :heartbeat: :heartbeat:

  • I love all of the beautiful bounty you have received from your garden. <3 You are blessed!

  • Great looking carrots...Makes me wish we still had a garden..... :sunny:

  • :lol: I had to laugh at your comment on my site :yes: my husband Barry is a very good cook if it is something made outside on the grill :rolleyes: he also does not complain when I try new things but he does not always eat very much of them, I think it's what keeps his figure nice and trim :wink: :heartbeat: :heartbeat: :heartbeat:

  • I always enjoy the way a child looks at the world, many times seeing things for the first time, and I think we would do well to look at it the same way sometimes, not with naivete, but with wonder at the design and miracles we witness. To think a few tiny seeds can be with proper cultivation and some hard work, in just a short time, a bountiful harvest. It is a miracle worthy of wonder. Those carrots cause my mouth to water. They would be wonderful in a soup. I hope you gain much pleasure and satisfaction from what you have grown.

  • does she have a pair of pants on and a dress?  Or is it her hoodie wrapped around her waist? She's starting a new style of clothesline. lol

    you are a lucky man and she is a lucky woman to have you,too.

    God is good.

  • My G/F would be so jealous of you. She is quite fond of gardening and grows her own tomatoes, banana peppers, okra, and squash, you have it all down to a science.
    :goodjob:

    Me ? If that vegetable doesn't come in a can or plastic bag then I'm not gonna eat it. :spinning:

  • You and your lovely wife are blessed not only with amazing family but a beautiful garden and good food from it.

  • I am a fan of fresh veggies too. They are amazing. Life is good!

  • Oh, you do know that I love to "play in the dirt".  This year we were away from the garden for a time caring for my sister that had heart surgery.  Therefore the garden did not receive the care that it needed to produce well.  We did get a few tomatoes, squash and peppers, but not in abundance.  God alone provided the apples as we did not spray for bugs or fertilize the trees.  We have already tilled our "concrete" and added some lime and mulch to try to soften.  We have planted our Fall crop of Collards and Cabbage, but will be late getting the turnip seed in the ground. A good rain today was much needed.

  • Home grown always tastes better and yes, the colours are beautiful too.

  • The carrots Janine pulled are beautiful!! Your garden makes me very happy to see. Beets are a favorite of mine too. :)

  • Fresh items from gardens are so wonderful. I can't wait to maintain my own garden someday.

  • Your lovely and industrious wife is a blessing to you! You have every right to consider yourself happy! The carrots must have tasted delicious!

  • Carrots!! Even I AM happy reading your stories.

  • RYC:  Thank you for the kindness that you have shown me.  It really means alot to me and to finally be able to explain some of my behavior, (even though they have to go back in and "fry" some more nerves in my neck),  people have decided that I'm too important to let slip away.  I now am getting support for vertical farms here in Iowa.  Really excited about that.  BTW, wonderful looking veggies.  Might have to look to you for growing tips. =)

  • Your carrots are so much different then the feeble little things that I used to grow.

    You definitely have the 'green thumb'

  • TY so very much for your comments on my post about the frustration of learning to use a new camera

  • Boeuf Bourguignon must have tasted superb. I had yesterday a similar stew, but, instead of wine , beer has to be used, belgian dark beer. it tasted great, of course I had to buy the carrots and the other veggies at the shops.

    Amitié

    Carlo

  • Bobby and I have thought about trying to put i a garden but with all that is going on with me I can't work it and his back is not up to it.  I am thinking about things that weeds and grass won't be so bad.  We have two chili piquine plants and that last hot spell just about did them in but before that we were getting a bumper crop from just the two potted plants.  They will be on my list next year...our fig sprig is now 10 ft tall and the diameter is about the same...again heat gets to it shortly after we get our first few picks but even that is exciting.  He knows as I do that a garden , a full garden is out of the question but just a few selected plants would be great.  You make me hungry with that stew.  When the vegetables are that fresh it makes all the difference in the world from store bought produce.  We have been going to the farmers market.  I saw some cabbae in one of the pictures...I have a friend in France who had trouble with slugs....any suggestions?

  • When it is her time to leave us many years from now, I hope that when Janine gets to heaven there is a chef there who will serve her Boeuf bourguignon and she will be a happy woman who will enjoy a great repast prepared by someone else! Meanwhile, SHE is the chef and you are the happy man! Salud, Janine! Salud, Michel! Click your glasses in a toast to yourselves, the happy couple! :yes:

  • RYC : Of course janine knows it is not boeuf Bourguigon. The nameof the stew here is more like ' Stoverij" (Stew).
    Carbonade Flamande is similar; of course there are many different way of adding ingredients.
    Basic is beef with onions, spices,and cooked very long and beer and beef stock will be added.
    A slice of spice bread with mustard is added to the stew, and some brown sugar too.
    No potatoes added to the Flemish stew, because they eat with fries on the side. French fries or 'frites' as the Flemish call them.

    Amitié

    Carlo

  • A healthy plate is one that has many colors. Having a variety of color means that one is getting good nutrition.

    And....fresh from the garden...That's the best!

    Plus the joy of working in the soil hand and hand with God.

    Love,
    votre amie,
    Francoise.

  • Enjoyed the new pictures. The garden is incredible! We are putting real working shutters on our house. How often do you use them?

  • You are a happy man. :wave: This year because of dry weather there were hardly any apples around here. The people in the town that has the apple festival had to buy apples from other orchards. Fruit is high priced this year. Certainly a sense of satisfaction in the produce from your own garden!

  • Your beef stew sounds delicious!

    I'm unable to identify with the joy you and Janine experience in gardening and working the land, largely because I've never gardened or touched soil before! I'd love to try gardening someday, but I guess I've got to do it overseas? There is no land for gardening in Singapore.

    Thanks for the (virtual) flowers you sent via FB!

  • Oh my goodness, that meal sounds wonderful! Today would be an excellent day for a meal like that - it has suddenly turned cold! Right now it is still in the 40's (F)! Brrrr.

    Those shutters are so neat! They are immense!

    You are far more comfortable on a ladder than I am. I would be very wobbly; it is good to see there is a nice brace at the top for safety.

    No carrots in my garden this year!

  • love the pictures of all the fall work and the garden.  i will be picking pomegranites and making jelly in a couple weeks.  i was wondering if it is possible for you to use a different color? although yellow is very attractive, i cannot see the letters as it is to light of a color.

  • Those carrots look so good! Wonder if I could grow them in a flower garden? How much sun do they need?

  • When we appreciate the hard earned but simple pleasures, I know God is smiling Lots of love to all, Nancy

  • I am so happy you updated your post and gave us some beautiful pictures of Janine and the carrots. I love to go into my garden and get the fresh crop too.

    RYC: about the symbiosis. I have responded to you on my blog about it. I thank you for the information.

  • I agree that the colors and shapes of veggies are beautiful, even more so when you've grown them yourself. I've never seen celery with the roots on, so that was interesting. My guinea pig, Dora thinks the carrots look wonderful! :)
    The clay here in Ohio also has a lot of clay, so I sympathize with your difficulty in working with it. All of your effort was worthwhile! And you still have the apples to harvest as well--maybe some apple pies or tarts?

  • TY so very much for your kind comments on my of the trees in their autumn colors Michel.

  • Those are fine looking carrots with a rich colour, Michel. Well worth the hard effort, I am sure! Many appluase to Janine!

  • TY so very much for your comments on my photos of Ali napping.

  • Thank you for your words of encouragement. I will write tomorrow and continue with my series of music in my life.

    Few people read here anynore it seems so sometimes I wonder if it is worth the time it takes to write and post pictures.

    I guess like you say, it is an opportunity to write and to record one's feelings.

    You are a faithful and encouraging friend. For some reason, I have very few credits for a mini...Sending you a virtual BIG BOUQUET of roses !

    votre amie,
    Francoise.

  • TY so very much Michel and I had a blast playing in those leaves.

  • Gorgeous! I can imagine how delicious your soup and stew tasted! While I had no real garden this year, only a few tomato plants, I did give our local farmer plenty of business this year.
    I will post more about this on my site.

    Your garden always produces much bounty, Michel. It is with much satisfaction and comfort to our souls that we enjoy the fruit of our labor. I think it is not so much a curse to sweat of brow in working the land. It is a blessing to be able.

    To me, simply, this living. I am happy for your happiness! :heartbeat:

  • everyone should work and grow their own food like you and janine do. that's wonderful! i would love to have stuff i grow...but i know it's a lot of work. :yes: i agree with someone's comment. you always amaze me and i look forward to hearing about what you all are doing with life. it is truly a joy and blessing to read and be involved! angela

  • ''Anne says, oh to have been a child beside you within your glorious garden, and to have had a Grandmother to learn from such as Janine. AMEN''

    '' Anne dit, oh avoir été un enfant à côté de vous dans votre magnifique jardin, et d'avoir eu une grand-mère d'apprendre comme Janine. AMEN''

  • We used to have a large garden but we don't anymore. Homegrown food is always better than any you can buy, though! I do admire your lovely garden and all of the work that you put into it!

    We have been enjoying our homegrown tomatoes. They are so much better than the ones in the stores! They will be gone, soon, because we are going to have frost.

  • Food always tastes better when you grow it yourself.  And getting through a weather hardship makes the food taste better yet!

  • TY so very much for your comments about my new camera, ( and I am enjoying it), and the photo I posted called growth.

  • Thank you for your kind comments :)
    I will use the information you gave me regarding the sage. I will make certain that its branches root! Very good to know.

  • I meant to add: Janine is a wonderful worker in the garden! So you care for it together. Very nice!

  • While my cooking is a disaster, I'm good at salad making, so I get excited with fresh vegetables especially carrots, beets and celery.

    Looks like a good produce you have. I like pickled beets.

  • Everytime I see your 'harvest' post - I think to myself, 'I need to make a garden!'
    But then, I look at all the work in front of me and say, 'Another day.' Ha.

    Enjoy the fruits & vegetables of your hard labour, Michel & Janine!

  • Lots of work! I am July was a bad month, but glad the whole crop was not lost.

  • I wonder why other professionals don’t notice your website much m glad I found this.
    landscapers victoria

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

fauquet

taking care of what is around us

calendrier

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930