July 4, 2014

  • Beauty and Bounty / Fourth of July

    Beauté et générosité
    Beauty and Bounty

     

    English version below the pictures

     

     Récemment j’ admirais la blancheur et l’ élégance   des lys , en ligne , au début du potager ;  Je me disais que cette fleur a vraiment une grande pureté de forme et de couleur. Cela  donne une idée de ce qu’ est la beauté dans sa simplicité .

     Et, juste à coté , je voyais les pommes de terre très prometteuses  d’une belle récolte : fortes tiges . feuilles bien vertes .  On voit mieux  la longueur de la parcelle sur la deuxième photo  . Je pensais donc  à la générosité de cette terre qui nous nourrit . D’un seul coup d’œil je voyais en même temps la  beauté et la fécondité de ce potager qui vous rend bien le travail fourni

     Et pendant que je contemplais  mon carré de pommes de terre , je vis arriver Janine. Ma pensée s’appliqua à elle : beauté , courage et fécondité. Je pensais alors au psaume 128 : «  ta femme sera comme une  vigne généreuse et tes enfants comme des plants d’olivier autour de ta table. »

    Lys et pommes de terre

    Lilies and beginning of the patch of potatoes.
    Lys et début de la parcelle de pommes de terre . Juin 2014   Photo M Fauquet

    janine revenant du jardin juin 2014

    Janine coming back from the bottom of the veggie garden
    Janine revenant du fond du jardin    Juin 2014  Photo M.Fauquet

      Recently I was admiring  the white et the elegance of the lilies , in a row, at the beginning of the veggie garden. I told myself :this flower really has both a high purity in the shape and color. This gives an idée of what is the beauty in the simplicity.

    And just at the side and further I saw the potatoes very promising of a good crop :  strong stems and beautiful green. We see better the length of the patch on the second picture . So I was thinking to the bounty of the ground that nourishes us . In only one glance, I saw in the same time beauty and fecundity in a veggie garden which rewards our work.

      While I was contemplating my beautiful patch of potatoes, I saw Janine who arrived from the bottom of the veggie garden. My thought applied to her : beauty, courage and bounty and then I thought of the psalm 128:”  Your wife will be like a fruitful vine within your house; your children will be like olive shoots around your table.”

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    On this  fourth of July I wish to my AMERICAN FRIENDS A GOOD CELEBRATION OF THE  INDEPENDENCE DAY.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     

     

Comments (33)

  • Psalm 128 was read at my wedding. Indeed there is bounty and beauty in your garden and your life!

  • Oh, wow. Such wise words and some we should remember always. I love what you write, Michel. Hugs and smiles, Char

  • Beautiful!! I love what you've written Michael, such warm thoughts, that fill the heart....

  • Aw Michel, a lovely post. Did you plant the lilies?

    • Yes Bonnie I did plant the lilies . Look well at Janine, she is holding a bouquet of Lilies she just got at the bottom of the veggie garden where there is another row of them.

  • This brought joy-tears to my eyes, Michel! :-)

    What a love pairing of photos and words. Your words are wise, loving, and precious! :-)

    Your thoughts, and that Psalm verse, DO apply to Janine! :-) And this is a beautiful tribute to a beautiful her! :-)

    Lilies always say, "Life" and "Strength", to me. :-)

    HUGS!!! :-)

  • such a lovely post, Michel ~ such a beautiful green garden! ~ and beautiful wife, as well ~ :)

  • Enjoy the olive oil. Hopefully, when your wife shoots, she isn't holding a pistol.

    Wait. Your wife should not ideally be the vine. As you describe, the bottle of wine: fruit of the vine.

  • Your words describing the beauty and bounty and comparing them to Janine, made my eyes smart. You are such a beautiful gentleman, dear Michel. I love reading your words and enjoying the posts. Thank you.

  • Lovely lilies!

    I love the Psalms verse you quoted!

    And lastly, thank you for the birthday wishes!

    - Marica

  • RYC - Yes, we have lots of lawn chairs and other people do too. When we have a picnic nearly everyone has them in their cars. :-)

    Love that last verse too. God created a garden and then put mankind in it. Gardens are lovely places.

    God bless you with a wonderful day.

  • The verse describes Janine perfectly. What was her reaction I am willing to think she has the same thoughts of you. The same way you have shown us here and in our friendship, your family has grown to love each other and you as parents are the vine and the children are the fruit. Now they will pass this on to the next generation! You are an inspiration to us!

  • There is so much beauty in the world, it is mystifying how many people simple overlook it! Blessings Michel

  • Your garden looks wonderful , looking forward to watching the start of the Tour of France from Yorkshire. Just hope that team Sky does well again this year

  • Hi Michel, I am not a gardener, but planted potatoes once. Each year they kept growing more. I guess i did not get all them that had grown. It was kind of fun.

    Love the flowers and photos.

    blessings

    frank

  • Beauty and bounty. God is good to give us both, and to give us friends. I'm so glad to have you and Janine as friends, even though we've never met in person.

  • Words so very true.

  • Looks like you have a loyal wife. It's very rare nowadays. And she is as beautiful as those white lilies.

  • Thank you for the July 4th wishes!!

  • I love all of you

  • I love the photo's of your garden and family. And the thoughts that accompany.

  • Oh such beautiful lilies, and you are going to have quite a crop of spuds.
    You are blessed with such a hard working lovely wife.
    Have a wonderful week ahead.

  • Such lovely lilies and such a plush green garden. Simply wonderful. peace always

  • TY so very much for your comment on my wild flowers post. I am not sure what they are either but find them very pretty to look at growing wild out in the field.

  • Ty so very much for your comments on my photos of the wild flowers growing in the field out back.

  • Ty so very much for your condolences concerning my great grand daughter and my post about her death.

  • You have a beatiful garden and a lovely wife, Michel. May your harvest be bountiful this year! And I hope you enjoyed your Fourth of July!

    Cheers!

  • I treasure your site,your thoughts,work,love , americans my age and those who are passing on-our parents so love the French, u r such a precious joy to me. carry on miche!

  • That was so beautiful!

  • Merveilleux miracles de la Vie!
    Amitiés, AM

  • What a beautiful post, and you do indeed have a most beautiful wife and family, Michel! :-)
    Thank you for your kind remarks on my posts. I've been absenting myself from Xanga of late, but hope to get better caught up with you and my other friends on Xanga now.
    Love and blessings... Carolyn

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

fauquet

taking care of what is around us

calendrier

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031