November 5, 2014

  • I remember./ Our friend MSB passed away last night ( Nov. 4)

    Up date of November 4, 2014

    I have just kept informed by her daughter Englishjuls( https://www.facebook.com/julie.essex1?fref=ts )that our xanga friend MSB, Marie  Burke passed away last night .
    This is of course a huge loss for her family but also for all of her Xanga friends such me.

    MSB (Marie Burke) enjoying  a visit in Amiens and the boating  on a canal in  June 2005
    She is sat at my side and behind are her daughter Englishjuls and her husband John.
    RIP Marie

    _________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

     

    October 27 , 2014

       I remember my departed Xangafriends

    At the approach of  All Saints Day ( November first),  we use in France to think especially of the defuncts and flourish their graves

    A l' approche de la Toussaint, je me souviens de mes amis de Xanga décédés.

    If  I missed some, please tell me with the name  and date .

    Barb , 2003

    Wickgal  december 2003

    Carrot-red , 2005

    lordpineapple ( Terry ),aka more-than – just-crab   2005 ( link still working)

     lkhend  , 2005

    camping diva  , 2007

    tooty 2007 ( link still working)

    Riddiger  2008 ( link still working )

     unowho36

    LolaMC,  she is gone after 2007 see her daughter alice ‘ site: http://alice.xanga.com/570685188/moms-birthday/

    the little Julian, leayellowrose ’s son ) 2008

    Bruce ( Nanny‘s husband ), 2009  ( click on Nanny    )

    jstickmann   December 2009

    Wissh ’s son  2010

    BLB ‘son 2010    ( click on BLB )

    mountaingirl  2010

    sunnyron 2010

    MommaRose 2011  link still working

    BuffysMom 2011 ( formerly coalminersdaughter)   link still working

    Mamselle ' s husband Mike    2013   https://www.facebook.com/mamselle?fref=ts

    Banyuls    2014   click on yulberto (his new name on WordPress)

    Marie Burke   3 Novembre 2014

    Portia ( Marj Busby ) 8 Janvier 2015

    John Childress ( Inciteful ) February 2015

    No news from papaoma since June 2010 and from jassmine since March 2011 and they were seriously ill ? Who has news from them?

    ______________________

    Here is one of my  ancient entries from June 2004 with the 115 comments  ( some are from the departed above ).
    Voici une de mes anciennes entrées de Juin 2004 avec les 115 commentaires ( dont quelques uns des défunts ci - dessus)

    June 29, 2004

    •  

      Le moulin à vent

       

      The windmill

       

                                             English version after the picture

       

      Je me demande pourquoi je suis attiré par les moulins à vent et particulièrement par ceux construits en pierre . Peut – être parce que je n ‘ ai toujours vu que des murs en ruines , restes de ces moulins d ‘ autrefois . Les moulins à vent étaient nombreux et couvraient tout notre territoire . Quelqu ‘un me demandait ce qui me fascinait . Beaucoup de choses , y compris les moulins à vent !!

       

      Un de ces moulins en pierre a été rénové complètement ( y compris le mécanisme à l ‘ intérieur ) à Eaucourt un village situé à 40 km d ‘ Amiens , le ville où je vis . J ‘ ai fait le déplacement exprès pour le photographier . Malheureusement les ailes ne tournaient pas ce jour là . La toile rouge était repliée comme les voiles d ‘un navire au repos . Cependant j ‘ ai enfin pu voir un de ces moulins .

       

      Autrefois le meunier habitait dans son moulin . La partie supérieure est un toit tournant en bois qu ‘on bouge avec une grosse poutre actionnée par un treuil à main de façon à placer les ailes face au vent .

       

      Ce moulin est le témoin d ‘ une époque révolue , le temps des ” lampes à huile et de la marine à voile ” comme disait le Général de Gaulle . Mais la seule énergie utilisée était le vent . Ou l ‘ eau pour les moulins à eau ! Il n’ y avait pas de pollution en ce temps – là , un temps qui dura .des siècles .

       

      Ah ! Meunier , que ta farine de blé était belle et que le pain fleurait bon !

       

      moulin d'Eaucourt
      Le moulin à vent d ‘ Eaucourt                Eaucourt windmill       Photo taken by Michel Fauquet April 2004

       

      I wonder why I am attracted by the windmills and especially by those built with stones . Perhaps , because I always seen only walls in ruins of those windmills of the past . The windmills were numerous and were scattered over all our region . Someone asked me what fascinates me .: many things including the windmills !!

       

      One of those windmills has been entirely renovated ( including the mechanism inside ) in Eaucourt , a village situated to 40 km from Amiens , the town where I live . I drove especially to Eaucourt to picture the windmill . Unfortunatly on this day the sails were not rotating. The red sailclothe was folded like the sails of a sailing boat at rest . However I could see one of those windmills at last !

       

      In the past the miller lived in his mill with his family . The upper part is a revolving roof in wood that one moves with a balk winched at hands in order to put the sails in front of the wind .

       

      This mill is the witness of a disappeared time , the ” oil lamp and sailing boats time ‘ as the General de Gaulle said . But the only one energy used was the wind . Or the water for the watermills . There was not pollution at this time , a time that lasts over centuries .

       

      Ah ! Miller , yes indeed , your weathen flour was good and the bread was fragrant !

       

    Comments (115)

     

Comments (40)

  • Wow over 10 years.

  • That was a lovely windmill post! And you've made some wonderful friends here over the past 10 years. And YOU have been a joy and a wonderful friend to so many people, Michel! You've been such an encouragement! :-) When I think of you, I always smile! :-)

    Xanga has been a true community of love and friendship. People came. And people went...some even to death. I've made some amazing friends here...some of them call me, text me, visit me, exchange snail-mail cards and gifts with me...it's been wonderful! :-)
    It's sad that more people will be leaving over the next few months.
    (((HUGS)))

  • Windmills have always been a spooky mystery to me. There used to be 2 in Golden Gate Park in San Francisco. They were mostly fallen down by then. They have been restored and not so spooky now. I too have a fascination for windmills <3 Love,
    Nancy

  • Bonjour Michel, c'est vraiment une joie de pouvoir te rencontrer à nouveau grace à ton lien à Facebook. Merci pour ton souvenir des amis de Xanga defunts, beaucoup d'entre eux étaient aussi des amis à moi, quand j'étais sur Xanga. Je ne les ai jamais oubliés.
    J'espère que tout se passe bien chez toi, et que tu puisse venir quelquefois aussi sur Facebook. Il y a un grand tas d'amis que t'attendent là-bas! Amitiés à toi et à Janine.

  • Hi Michel,

    I also love windmills! They really are a work of art - and so functional. Lovely picture you've posted here. I wish you and your family well! I'm super busy still with work and my dogs. :-)

  • The only person from that list that I know of, is jstickman. He was a gentleman to the core.
    Beautiful post about beautiful windmill.

  • Hi Miche l,
    I am not yet in the list.....but it was close.
    Going home today from hospital again. I think thr revalidetion can be starting.
    It is like fighting the wind mills. At night they become scary monsters.

    Amitie
    Carlo

  • I miss so many of my old Xanga readers too ~ wish it had never changed to the new ~ it was so much better years ago. But, at least there are a few of you left ~ would definitely miss you if you weren't here! :)

  • So many have passed and so many have just disappeared.
    Reading this post and all of the comments on your Xanga site from July 2004 reminds me of how active a place Xanga used to be.
    I miss the way it used to be and the people who were here.
    I know a lot of folks have moved to face book and a lot are on word press too, and I am grateful for that, even though I do not use FB anymore due to my grandkids no longer being on there.
    Have a Happy Halloween.

  • TY so very much for your comments on my post about Alis update.

  • TY so very much of your comment on my post of the photo of the rose bud still getting ready to bloom after the big Fall rainstorm.

  • Windmills, lighthouses, and water wheels at the mill.... I love them all.
    (I like(and trust) mechanics much more than technology)
    I have often thought I would like to be a lighthouse keeper. I don't know if they even have those anymore.
    Can you imagine what the noise must have been like to live inside that windmill?

    What an incredible number of friends you have had! :-)

    Wishing you blessings this Thursday. :-)

  • I cannot figure out how to post even with Eugenie's help. I can gain access to it, but cannot find how or where to connect.
    Thank you for worrying. I have had numerous doctor's appt so. My doctor for pain management is injecting something into my knees . The needles are 2 inches long . He puts jelly on and I can watch it. It. Is similar to a pregnant lady wanting to see her unborn!

  • from : http://bonnieupnorth.xanga.com

    Comment:
    Indeed nice to see some one who understands the meaning of All Saints Day! Greeting from Canada with changing seasons and snow to come soon!

  • from Ruth http://icediamondeyeddragon.wordpress.com/
    Windmills are so beautiful and love this photo.

    11/3/2014 8:17 AM
    ruth
    edit

  • Touchante entrée avec la mémoire des amis disparus.
    Et pour meunier ... c'est la traduction de Müller :-)
    Amitiés, AM

  • Wow, that is a lot of people. Wish I could have met more of them. :-) I love the windmill. It would be fun to live in one. :D

  • Ciao Michel, Marie aussi est désormais à ajouter à la liste des amis qui ont passé au-délà... J'ai lu une note sur FB de Nancy Fountain, mais je pense que English Juls t'aura dejà informé.
    Elle était une si chère amie, mon regret est immense.
    Mes amitiés à vous tous.

    • Merci Annalisa de ce commentaire. J ' étais déjà avisé par Englishjuls , sa fille . J ' essaie de modifier cette présente entrée mais j' ai quelques problème techniques

  • A wonderful Windmill post, Michel, and I pass along my condolences to all our friends who have passed away, many of whom I corresponded with. And my deepest sympathies to MSB and her family.

  • I'm so sorry for the loss off our xanga friends how amazing that there's a site that they coud lwrite and share pieces of their lives that we can still look at. that's a gorgeous windmill! We have nothing like that here, it is so beautiful to see.

  • so sorry for the loss of your friend ~

  • You outdid yourself, Michel. This was an amazing post---I will have to return and read again. I concur with the comments--especially Carolyn's.

    I loved Xanga. I fear it will never be the same, but some are staying here and some are trying other sites. This was a great community and you helped make it that way.

    That list of the deceased really moved me. You actually kept a record of them. I was very touched by your love.

    blessings

    fank

  • this is sweet.
    xanga has brought so many precious friendships into my life~

    grateful for you, Michel.
    you are so good to keep in touch.

  • I miss papaoma. I'm sure she is in Heaven now.
    There is a windmill museum near us. We've bee there twice. Most of the windmills are smaller, but there are one or two that are large and have little houses attached. We bought a windmill to pump air in our ponds, so the fish don't die when the ponds ice over. It was made in Shipshewana, which is an Amish area.

  • Michel, you look so happy in the photo, sitting in the boat.
    I am sorry to hear of the loss of your good friend.

  • Marie looked like she was a very happy person, thank you for letting us know about her passing, and for this beautiful entry, I miss thenarrator, I saw his comment in the long list.

    my computer is fixed now!!! well almost but at least I can come and see how you are doing and it looks like you've been very busy =)

    Thank You Michel for being such a great friend, maybe Xanga will become a place like it once was. I still love it here.

    ILYM Marsha

  • I'm sad to read that those that I have read over the years are no longer here. I hope the families of those that have passed are comforted.

  • So many familiar names that are gone from xanga and also from our lives. I am richer for having known them. Thanks for the remembrances.

  • Oh, you've made me miss the old Xanga! I'd forgotten Englishjuls. I deeply miss Elevenstone and Curtainsopen, though Curt had left long before Xanga changed. Queenie keeps in touch via Facebook but it's not the same. ~sigh~ It was fun. Thanks for the memories.

  • I'm so sorry to hear of Marie's death. :-( My prayers go out to her family.
    (((HUGS)))
    PS...thank you SO MUCH, Michel, for checking up on me at my WordPress site. It means a lot to me that you noticed my absence. I posted a blog today about why I have been AWOL from blogging the past week. :-)

  • TY so very much for your comment on my little town being called number 6 out of 13 worst town in Washington state. I do not see ti that way at all.

  • Ty so very much of your comment on my list about Alis update.

  • hello cher michel, thanks for being constant in continuing xanga. i always love reading your posts. i've been lackadaisical in xanga. i had one post but i lost it since i didn't save the draft. i just did one. life is too quick, michel, i remember as a child, i couldn't wait to be 21! now i cannot believe i am 40 and my daugher is 5! where does time fly? and my father's gone! sigh. ahhhh very saddening. ok much love to u !!! <3 xxx

  • That's quite a list of Xangans who we've lost. It's good that someone remembers them. I don't remember any of them, though jstickman seems to ring a bell. I'll have to browse his site to see if it dredges up memories.
    I like that you made a special trip to see the windmill. I make trips like that, too sometimes when I have free time.
    I hope all is well with you and your family.

  • It is wonderful of you to remember them like this.

  • thank you for remembering...
    i will never forget my best friend...and i still am so saddened by it all
    michel - you are such a wonderful soul
    (L)

  • Thank you for remembering. I can't believe 4 years have passed already.
    I found out today that because I had a premium account, my xanga is not only still available to me, I can still write on it, unlike those who paid monthly fees. Then I came immediately to your blog and was incredibly happy to see you still blogging. I am going to read back in time until I am all caught up! I can't wait to see the grandchildren.
    Windmills....perhaps you are like Don Quixote?
    {v}

  • "Papaoma" and I were friends; One of her neighbors or family members (I forget which now) finally came on to tell her Xanga friends that she had died of cancer. Yes, as Gracia (Ata_Grandma) stated, she has now enjoyed many years in heaven... rejoining her husband, & now with the Lord.
    You are such a thoughtful and wonderful friend, Michel. I don't want to lose touch ... even if I am no longer on Xanga after December. Thank you for your thoughts, prayers, and notes. I shall try to do better myself with keeping in touch.
    Love ...
    Carolyn

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

fauquet

taking care of what is around us

calendrier

November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930