October 21, 2006

  • Cet arbre a 1000 ans .


    This tree is 1000 year old .


    English version after the French texts


    Nous avons vu en Provence près du Pont du Gard un olivier qui avait 1000 ans .
    Cela nous avait surpris et ce monument vivant valait bien une photo .
    Les oliviers sont renommés par leur grand âge car ils se régénèrent à partir de leur base comme le monte la photo .


    . Je me suis posé la question : combien de personnes ont constitué ma famille pendant mille ans ?
    Plus précisément combien de personnes se sont aimées l 'une l ' autre pour que cette chaîne d ' amour arrive jusqu ' à moi ?


    Vous trouverez un début de calcul ci - dessous .
    Je l ' ai volontairement limité à deux cents ans pour vous laiser la découverte du résultat pour 500ans et 1000 ans .


     


    olivier



    Un olivier de 1000 ans en Provence
    A 1000 year old olive tree in Provence ( France )


     


       We saw in Provence near the Pont du gard a 1000 year old olive tree .
    This surprised us and this living monument deserved a picture . The olive trees are renowned for their long life .
    They regenerate themselves by sprouts coming from the basis of the trunk as the picture shows .


    I ask myself : how many  family members were living  in the course of those  1000 years ?
    More precisely how many people loved each other in a chain of love leading to me ?


    You will find below a beginning of computation . I limited it volontarily for two centuries
    to let you have the surprise of the discovery for 500 years and 1000 years .


    Siècles ( centuries )       number of people             rang ( order ) de la génération


    2 siècles ( centuries )                     512                                     10th generation
                                                      256                                     9th generation
                                                      128                                     8th Genération
                                                       64                                      7th generation
                                                       32                                       6thgeneration
    1 siècle ( century )                         16                                5th génération great great grand p
                                                       8                                     4th generation  Great grandparents
                                                       4                                     3th generation Grandparents
                                                       2                                     2d generation  parents
                                                       1                                    1st generation ( me or you )


       total for 2 centuries 1023 - 1 ( me ) = 1022
              pour 2 siècles


        Ce nombre est la somme totale des personnes qui se sont aimées au cours de ces deux derniers siècles
    pour me donner naissance , ou à vous . N ' est - ce pas merveilleux de sentir en soi et autour de soi
    cette foule de 1022 personnes, formant comme un monde d ' amour invisible ?


       Je vous invite à continuer ce calcul , si vous le souhaitez , le calcul de la somme des personnes
    dont vous êtes le descendant , pour 5 siècles par exemple et même 10 siècles ( je l ' ai fait ) . .
    Vous arriverez à une réalité difficile à se représenter car le résultat est un nombre réellement astronomique .
    Vous serez frappés d ' étonnement devant cet univers d ' amour dont vous venez et dont vous êtes part .


       So in the course of 2 centuries 1022 people loved each other to give birth to…. me or you .
    Is not that amazing to feel into you and around you this crowd of 1022 persons doing an invisible world of love ?


      I invite you to continue , if you want , the computation of the sum of people whom you are the descendant
    for 5 centuries and even 1000 years ( 5 generations per century ) . . I did it .
    You will arrive to a number difficult for the understanding so much it is enormous .
    Fortunatly the math tool is there . You will fall in astonishment to find an astromical number ,
    a vaste universe of love going towards you and of which you are part .


    __________________________________________________________________________________________


      Une de nos belle - filles , la maman de Manon et d ' Antoine , 32 ans , a appris cette semaine
    que sa tumeur au poumon était un cancer . ( elle ne fumait pas et notre fils non plus )
    Nous sommes évidemment préoccupés et nous devons être prêts à aider .
    Par conséquent je ne pourrai répondre que lentement à vos aimables commentaires . Les prières sont demandées .


      One of our daughters - in - law , Manon and Antoine ' s mom who is 32 years old learnt this week
    that her lung tumor was a cancer . ( she didn ' t smoke and our son no more ) .


      We , Janine and I , are obviously worried and we have to be ready for help .
    So I will be able to reply to your kind comments but slowly . Prayers are welcomed
    .



Comments (163)

  • I will pray for your daughter-in-law.  That's sad news. 

    That olive tree is amazing.  I love the way you put this truth:  You will fall in astonishment to find an astromical number ,
    a vaste universe of love going towards you and of which you are part .

  • I still remember how fascinated I was as a schoolboy to learn about dating trees with growth rings. I loved the thought that all that history was in that tree and we could see it graphically and touch it.

    I am sorry to hear of your daughter-in-laws health problem. I understand why you are worried. I wish her all the best in her treatment.

  • One thousand years old?  Amazing!  If only the tree could talk.  Of course it is an olive tree.  I said a prayer for your daughter-in-law.

    Mille ans de ? Stupéfier ! Si seulement l'arbre pourrait parler. Naturellement c'est un olivier. J'ai dit une prière pour votre belle-fille.

  • I'm sorry to hear about your daughter in law. She will be in my thoughts.

  • It is awesome to stand beside such an old life. 
    I will pray for your daughter-in-law, that's a frightening diagnosis.

  • I have been thinking and praying for you...I know that's why you haven't been around much and I understand.  Your son, your daughter in law and those beautiful grandchildren need you.

    What a beautiful tree!  How much that lovely tree has seen.  It does have a story to tell.  I think the Olive Tree is among the most beautiful of trees.

    Here in the US, we have the Giant Sequoias and Redwoods in California.  The Giant Sequoias only grow in one place and that is on the Western Edge of the Sierra Mts.  They are the most remarkable and wonderful things and I hope you can come and visit CA some day and see them.  I think everyone should see them.

  • That's such a beautiful tree. I really like the way you related to it's lifetime as a millennium of love. I'm very sorry to hear that your daughter in law is going through such a grave illness. I will keep you all in my thoughts and I wish for the best.

  • Hello Michel:  My dear friend it is very sad news about your daughter in-law.  Such a young age to have such a heavy weight upon her shoulders.  I know your heart is heavy with worry my friend.  I will add her to my prayer list.  Many people have come down with cancer that have never smoked it's not always smoking that brings it on.  I have read we all have cancer cells in our bodies that can become active I don't know if that is true I know I read it once.  Medicine has come a long ways if not for stem cell transplant my brother would not be here today so my friend there is hope and we must hang on to that and our faith.

    I have never seen an olive tree, it's very pretty.  I love tree's.  To think this earth started with two people Adam & Eve and look at it now   Lots of people here now.  Enjoy your day and know that our prayers are with your family and your daughter in-law.  Shirley

  • I'm praying as well....
    I'm sorry for your sad news.

  • hello michel! it's been a long while since i've swung by, glad to see you're still posting and writing beautiful things.

    best wishes for your family

  • The tree is amazing! Does it still bear olives?

  • Hugs and Prayers for your family

  • I know when I do not hear from you on my blog that you are busy with life... always hopefully good, but sometimes bad. I know it is bad now. You must be with your family, Michel

    I always enjoy reading about your adventures and discoveries

    ~Prayers for all of you
    Rosemary

  • Prayers sent on her behaf, Michel.

  • prayers your way   i would love to touch that tree to see what it has to say   it looks twisted & knarled like trees on top of our mountains here in Virginia  i jokingly call them arthritic  they are so telling & surprisingly much shorter than trees along the way to the top  they have shorter distances to reach to touch the sun  God bless  magi/beck

  • It is hard to imagine that many people to make me. You and I think a lot alike about things like that. 
    Yes, I am praying for your daughter in law and the rest of your family too. 

  • My prayers are with your whole family, and I am glad that we live in a moment in time when people can so often successfully fight these dreaded things. The paths that build us, stretching over so much time and (for me) from so many places (Derry, Edinburgh, Plsn, Kiev and who knows beyond that) are incredible to imagine, and all while this tree has stood guard over the land and served us that gift of life, the olive. Remarkable.

  • That is amazing...

  • I am so sorry about your daughter-in-law; I will be praying for her and the children.

  • My husbands mother had lung cancer.  There are more and more advances in medicine every day.  I will keep her in my prayers.  Remember all of the love of your ancestors and use it to help everyone through these times.  Let me know if you need anything.  Delra

  • oh, michel, we are praying here for your daughter in law....please pray for a friend of mine - lori, just diagnosed with cancer of the esophagus.  she is a wife, a mum, and works for the Red Cross.  blessings, melinda

  • Firstly, Michel, let me tell you Glenn and I send our best wishes to your DIL, her family and you and Janine. I really do hope things work out well for her, and I can well understand how worried all of you would be.

    That really is incredible about the olive tree! You can see the age in the tree from it's twisted, gnarled old trunk. I love the photo of the tree. You make a very interesting point on all the people who've loved each other to create the generation we have today.

  • You do not need to comment back,but my prayers are with you and your daughter-inlaw. Thank you for sharing with us the picture of the olive tree. It is a beautiful tree.

  • Trees have always been a great favorite of mine.  When I was young, there was a climbable one in the backyard that I used to stretch out along the branches and feel the sway of liumbs in the breeeze and pretend that I was part of it.  So it is a good illustration for the limbs of our family trees and all the people we are linked to in love.

    I am so sorry to hear of the trouble of your daughter-in-law.  That cancer runs in my family, but these days they do have a lot more tools to fight it.  I will send my prayers.

  • what a wonderful concept- the idea of love! the olive tree is beautiful!

    i am so sorry to hear of your daughter in laws cancer. i am sending you much love and hope.

  • Bonne chance!

  • J'ai 32 ans...La vie nous en reserve,non?  Dieu a un plan pour chacun de nous,qu ' on l'aime ou pas...

    difficile d'imaginer ma reaction dans la meme situation...

    Quel age ont Manon et Antoine?

    Je vous embrasse,et sachez que vous etes tous dans mes prieres...

    Mimi

  • You are all in my thoughts.  I will try to think of another pleasant post for you.

  • that's amazing.  what a wonderful post.  just what  i needed to read right now.  merci. 

    prayers and well-wishing to your daughter-in-law.

  • Quelles belles idées. C'est magnifique...beaucoup de personnes, et beaucoup d'amour! J'aime cette phrase: "combien de personnes se sont aimées l'une l'autre pour que cette chaîne d'amour arrive jusqu'à moi?" Je n'ai jamais vu un olivier, et je n'ai pas su que ces arbres sont tellement agés.

    Mes pensées sont avec ta belle-fille.

  • wow......so VERY interesting to think about.....incroyable et belle au meme-temps!

  • wow.. i have no idea how many generations i go back... but thats an amazing thought.. thank you so much.. and my prayers are with u and ur family

  • We are ver sorru to hear about your DIL. We will pray for her and for her little guys.They will need a lot of help too.
    While all this people were loving ech other tp become possible our birth, the olive tree was always there.
    He must have a lot of stories to tell.
    I miss the olive trees.

  • Best wishes for your daughter in law.

    The message of the tree is awesome!

  • Yes, Michel, you know my thoughts and prayers are with you.  We must pray for courage in very difficult times. I know that you and Janine will be a blessing to your daughter-in-law and the family.  I like your thoughts today of going back in the generations.  It is a compilation of how God has brought them all together to have it come down to you.  Amazing! - Rachel

  • Such a beautiful tree - I love it - we have Bristel Cone Pines that are 200 but don't know if we have any as old and wonderful as this!  Kat

  • Another of my xanga friends posted a picture from China, of a 1000 yr old tree! What a coincidence!

    Keep happy thoughts around you during your struggle with the health issues of your daughter. There are many wonderful advances, and lots of survivors.

  • My prayers for a complete recovery for your DIL are there.  You and Janine must be in constant worry.  I send my love to you and all of your families.  Nancy & Bruce  May God be with all of you.

  • Oh mt gosh, that olive tree is hundred thousand years old....that's amazing. Even though it kinda does look like 1000 old tree.
    Oh wow, the sad story about ur daught-in-law is tragic. I will definately pray for her recovery okay?
    Later.

    P.S. check out my BF's web page. His new on xanga..

    xanga.com/tristram.j

  • Our prayers are with your daughter-in-law and your whole family.

    Yvonne

  • I have been praying for your DIL and all your family. My SILs mother has been operated on for breast cancer and is not doing very well at the moment.  It is a very worrying time but now there is so much that can be done to " cure " cancer that I hope and pray your DIL will get speedy treatment. God bless you all. Marie

  • Sending healing energy.

  • I loved the story and photo of the olive tree, Michel, but I was shocked to read about beautiful Marina, and I will keep her in my prayers that they found the cancer early and can treat her until she is well. She is lucky, however, to have you and Janine, and you will help her a great deal as she fights to be healthy again.

  • it is a beautiful tree!

    also, i hope the best for your daughter in law and she can cure the lung cancer.

  • Prayers for your dear Manon.

  • It always amazes me how old some trees can get

  • Amazing.

    May you find strength and comfort in this time of need.

  • You make me think...a difficult thing for me, i admit, however...
    :)
    What an old tree.
    How strange to think, that it has exsisted for such a long time, but for all it knows, it was born yesterday.

  • My prayers are with your daughter-in-law and your son, as well as your entire family as you face this serious illness.  I hope it will encourage you to know that a family in my church as a daughter who is also 32 years old.  She also has two children.  She has a reacurance of cancer. She is undergoing treatment.  Her last test showed that the cancer is in remission.  Today there are many treatments to combat this evil disease.  I pray that God in His mercy will preserve your daughter-in-law and give comfort and strength to you and your wife.

    As ever,

    Carol Suzanne

  • Salut Michel,

    Les arbres sont incroyables. Je ne peux pas imaginer tout qu'ils voient et qu'ils ont vu pendant leurs vies.

    Ta famille est dans mes prières pendant ces temps, Michel. Espérance à vous <3

    ~Anne 

  • Oh - j'ai oublié à te dire que j'ai ouvert mon blog anglais encore, mes je continuera à écrire dans mon blog bilingue, aillesbrisées.

    ~Anne

  • Prayers coming y'alls way!

  • Thank you for the compliment Michel I am still praying. Judi

  • I am so sorry to hear about your DIL its so sad for your family. Lets hope that the doctors give her the tools for fighting this cancer. I am sure she is a fighter which you need to be when cancer hits. As you know we are having the same problem in our family at the moment. Its good that you talk about the tree and life in this blog as well

  • My mom volunteers time occasionaly at NGO for terminally ill cancer patients in Delhi called cansupport. Also my grandmother had colon cancer. I know how it feels to hear a near one has cancer. cansupport has a tag line which i think is meaningful - one can add more days to ones life, but one can try and add more life time to whatever days one has. I think you'll know what I mean - I think she is lucky to have such a good and big family around her.

    I wish you courage, and strength, and loads of good luck and wishes as you as a family deal with your daughter in-laws health. With good diagnosis I hope she will lead a full and happy life.

  • je suis de tout coeur avec vous pendand cette grande épreuve
    j'envoie des pensées positives à votre belle-fille et à tout son entourage
    puisse-t-elle être bien soignée
    et avoir la force de continuer à aimer la vie au jour le jour !

    très cordiales pensées, AM

    impressionnantes générations nous ayant précédés
    impressionnant aussi pour ceux qui n'enfantent pas de terminer un bras de l'arbre ...
    mais nous sommes en esprit éternels et c'est cela qui compte :)

    l'un de nos fils se prénomme Olivier
    j'aime beaucoup ce nom :)

    ici ça va bien
    nous avons beaucoup de fonctions officielles à honorer cette semaine alors j'ai mis mon fotolog en veilleuse
    ce soir à 20h la fanfare de Paris jouera au musée d'art de HK
    j'essaierai de prende qq images et si elles sont réussies te les enverrai mercredi au plus tôt
    car demain je serai en excursion à Guangzhou (Canton), départ d'ici à 6h30 du matin ... dur dur ... ;) ))

  • That tree is simply amazing. To have survived the times, the wars and mother nature for as long as it has is incredible!

    So sorry to hear the news of your daughter in law. Much too young to have to be dealing with this. I will keep her in my thoughts and prayers.

  • Yes, I have a friend who had cancer in her (mid) 30s but she has fully recovered now.

    Dear Heavenly Father, I know we do not deserve what we ask because we are fallen creatures. But Father, remember that You have adopted us and called us Your children. Now Father, Your child asks for healing for this lady. Will You not be merciful? Will You not show Your compassion? Remember Father, we are only dust. Look upon us with pity and grant us healing. I pray that Your Holy Spirit will be near Michel and Janine too. Comfort them and grant them peace as they pray. In Jesus' name, Amen.

  • I will be praying for your daughter-in-law.  I know that is not easy! 

    What a beautiful entry about the tree...I often think of such things.  It makes the mind boggle!

    <3,

    Aubrey

  • THAT'S SO SAD! She's such a beautiful woman and has equally beautiful children. I am really saddened when someone gets lung cancer when they didn't do anything to deserve it. Not for you to lose hope, but lung cancer is usually fatal. Fight it aggressively even if it means losing a portion of her lung. I hope they caught it soon. There are a lot of capillaries (smallest blood vessels) in our lungs, so it aids for a quick spread of the cancer. This is very serious, so please encourage her to be aggressive. I don't know if you said it was malignant (the deadly kind) or benign (non-threatening), but it should be removed (if at all possible) as soon as possible.  

  • I also want to say that I enjoyed your first topic about the 1022 people being in love to create us. Wow.

    I always wished I was in a family that had children at a young age. That way there is a better chance of your great, great grandparents being alive to see you have children. I love generations and genetics. I love looking at my family members and wondering what common traits we have.

  • Marina is such a beautiful woman!  What a tragedy for all of you.  My prayers are with you all, and the doctors, too, that they will be able to cure her.  This is a rough time for you.  Manon and Antoine need all of you, now, too.  Am sure they are frightened by this, although Antoine is perhaps too young to understand yet.

    Your generational chart is interesting.  There is such a difference between families.  My father's surname, which is unusual, will die out with my generation. Every one had small families.  All my cousins are girls except one boy.  But he only had girls.  Although, of course, the girls had children----just a different surname.  But Ken's family is huge.  His surname is unusual, too, but it is expanding rapidly, due to these large families. 

  • Oh, I'm sorry, something unknown is happening in my computer, that send my messages when I am still typing them. Maybe the cats had walked on the keyboard? I apologize! Can you delete those wrong attempts of message, please?
    I hope that all will go well with your DIL. SURELY I'll pray for her and for you all. She is still so young, too young to deal with this! I hope the doctors will be able to cure her and let her to recover very soon.
    The olive tree is simply sumptuous, and your generational chart interesting and useful. Thank you!
    Have a good week, as serene as possible.

  • Oh, Michel...I loved the picture of your daughter-in-law reading to her two little ones...there are new advances every day, and so we have tremendous hope...I will pray and hope your family is strong during this time ahead...she has youth on her side.  The olive tree has much wisdom, for us to learn that although life has so much adversity, we can still live strong...hugs and prayers, Lowie

  • That is a beautiful tree and soooo many people in those years! 

    I will be praying for your daughter in law and your family

  • What a beautiful expression of the love you must be feeling for your Sweet Daughter!
    1000 years only begins to express the depth of love a parent has for a child!

    Praying for all those things you hope for, Michel -
    Peace. Healing. Hope. Wisdom. Love.

  • C'est un bien bel arbre et le conte est vraiment impressionant!

  • Prayers for you DIL... 

  • Living history in that tree. wow. Praying for your daughter-in-law

    Blessings,
    Melody

  • may I offer the only support i have -- a prayer?

  • What a wonderful picture of the olive tree. I would say 1000 years is a long time and it is still renewing itself. I figured out the generation thing for 5 centuries and I got 16,777,216 people-that is a lot of love!!! I will figure it out for 1000 years later-you know how I love working with numbers-the number has to be huge.

    As for your DIL, I will send some more prayers for her. I know of 2 people who have had lung cancer and survived-one just recently-so it is not hopeless. The doctors learn new things everyday.

    I pray that Manon and Antoine's mom will also be able to fight this and come out of it fine. All we can do is pray for her and her children, and all of your family. My prayers and thoughts will be with all of you. Do not worry about commenting to us, I am sure everyone will understand.

    Much love to you and yours

    Edie Rose

  • Best wishes and prayers for your daughter in-law's quick and complete recovery!

    What an awesome example of what it really took for a person to be where they are now...thank you so much for showing me!

  • How neat to think there were that many people in one person's ancestry - and that only back 2 centuries! Thanks for telling us that, Michel. Prayers continuing for your dil and all your family - I have a neighbor who has had full recovery from lung cancer. And she never smoked either.

  • What a beautiful tree, Michel! Thanks for posting this. Prayers continuing for your dil and your whole family. I have a friend who has had full recovery from lung cancer and she never smoked either.

  • What an awesome tree.  It is humbeling to think how many have lived, loved and died since that tree took root.  I have been praying for you and your family my friend and will continue to lift you all up in prayers daily.  Much love and cyber hugs sent your way. :HEART:

    Debbie

  • The tree is so impressive ! I will pray for your loved one. I have been praying for my sister, who also has lung cancer. love LMC

  • I love the tree and the counting, it's a lovely idea.

    My thoughts are with you and your family with the lung cancer. Mother smoked till mid life then quit and her lung cancer no matter how much they cut out kept coming back. The chemo did not work and now they are trying new experimental drugs. She is a tough one and will not quit if it will buy her any time at all. Her lung cancer is fourth stage but she is determined to beat it. As with your daughter in law her spirit and a fierce determination will help her so much. Strengh be with you and your family in this bout with cancer.

    Love, Brenda

  • Hello kind Sir, What an interesting tree. Blessing your way

    Dorothy

  • Michel,  I have not been around much but have been reading faithfully.  I felt I must comment when reading about your DIL, mother of  those beautiful children.  My heart goes out to her and all your family.  I will be praying for all of you.  Your tree is a beautiful symbol of strength and life.  Karen

  • that tree is so beautiful. your daughter and your family are in my prayers. i am sorry that your family has this huge worry. love and hugs sent to you all. please take care.

  • Your tree must meet my tree.

    I could never figure out how many people loved to make me. I lost track of my family tree.

  • interested on that tree was a history.. oh sorry to hear your daughter in law has a cancer.. I hope she get well soon.. will send you much love and courageous to your daughter.. :)

  • Michel, you make me contemplate the essence of life whenever I visit your page! Thank-you for the e-post-card..it was a pleasant and much appreciated surprise!

    Prayers for your daughter-in-law.:love:

  • btw...I must add..I admire your persistence with the 'stunted pear tree'..

    Patience is a virtue!

  • I am praying!

    I am passing out a  blessing today.

    The Lord bless you and keep you;
    The Lord make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you;
    The Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.

    Blessings, Numbers 6:24-26

  • What a beautiful tree.... I wish I could draw it

    I am so sorry to hear that your daughter-in-law has cancer. I hope for the best for her and wish you and all your family strength through this difficult period.

  • I have read that about Olive trees before, funny thing with so many italians living in Oz ,we have many olive trees about the place I have been seeing bits of France and Italy especially Tuscany as I watch the sky television and a lot of Brits are buying places out there some are happy some have lost a lot of money but it gives me a look of the places, only showas I don't like are the food ones, how people can eat snails, is beyond me and not being interested in food at moment I skip all those have you eaten snails what do they taste like can you compare it to anything else Love Marjie

  • Je suis desolee. Je vais prier pour elle et pour toute ta famille.
    J'espoire qu'elle ne soit pas dans plus de peine.
    Amities,
    Clementine

  • Goodmorning, Michel!

    Just checking in on you to see how you are doing.  I hope everything is okay, and the person you were worried about is okay.  Miss ya!  You take care and hopefully I will hear from you soon. 

    That tree is the most awesome!!!   

    Have a wonderful day!

    Your friend,

    Kim

  • Hello, darlin'...thinking of you today...it is raining here in Dallas, and quite cool...time for the cowgirl boots!  I am sending good thoughts your way, for your family and all of your health....hope your week is going smoothly...Hugs my friend, Lowie

  • the tree is wonderful, michel!
    so many lovers ;)

    i hope that things will be fine for your daughter in law...i send you my prayers xo

  • I very much enjoyed this post but i am sorry that its summarized with bad news. My blessings to you and your family, i hope for a kind and speedy recovery.

  • I hope things are going well with your daughter-in-law. I continue my prayers. Judi

  • * Yes, the evening photos are of Hastings sea front & Pier.

  • Dear Fauquet,
    I posted a picture of your vegetables, avec enhancements.
    Hope all is well. *Prayers*

  • My dear friend im sorry to hear the bad news/ May God bless and the treatment work to heal her from the cancer. love fancy

  • Working just my day job is not quite enough money but I am going to trust that God will help me make it in another way.

    I hope the surgery goes well for your daughter-in-law. I will continue prayers. Judi

  • I think Neptune's horses is a beautiful painting. I so enjoy it. I have a print of it. Judi

  • Makes me wonder Michel,   is humanity a contagious disease ?     Is the world a terminal case of humanity ?

    We grow in numbers,  but seem to recede in wisdom.        And yet we are here because of love of people

    for each other.

    We are still praying for your daughter-in-law.

  • My gosh the amount is incredible! Olive trees are the most incredible things, because when I see them, I think of wisdom for some reason. It bothers me to see that some very old olive trees here in Italy have been dug from the ground and put into large pots, so that people can buy them from a garden store. It does not seem right to remove a tree that has lived in one place for a long time...

    Michel I am also very very sorry to hear about your daughter-in-law. I feel your pain, because earlier this year my mother left this earth suddenly due to a cancerous tumor in her lung. She thought it was just a bad cough, and never went to the doctor to find out the reason until it was too late. Also, she nor my father has never smoked, no one in our immediate family has. My prayers to you and your family, keep well.

  • Okay sir, His web address is tristram_j

    How is it going for u? It's so rainy in Missiouri

  • Truly remarkable tree!!! My prayers and healing wishes sent out to your daughter-in-law, as well as the rest of the family. I am sorry to hear this and hope she recovers and is healthy. Love to you and your's. Laurie

  • Michel, I am so sorry to hear of your dear daughter-in-law's illness. Of course, like so many who love you, I'll be praying for strength and recovery for her and help for all of you. I'll ask for help from my Bible Study group this morning, too. I wish I could leave you with a beautiful thought that would take it all away, but I don't know one.
    Thanks for your thoughts about the olive tree, and the generations. I might have figured how many people there are in 1000 years of generations, but I wouldn't have thought of it in terms of love. That is your special strength, I believe, and I'm so thankful that you share it with us.
    In Love and Peace,
    Joy

  • amazing, that 1000-year-old olive tree! i bet so many news have happened in its lifetime. i'm sorry about your daughter-in-law and i will add her to my prayers! blessings to you and your family!!!

  • Wow, it is amazing that something can actually live for a 1,000 years!! Truly astonishing.

    I will keep your daughter-in-law in my thoughts and prayers and hope for better news ahead.....

    Enjoy your weekend, my friend.

  • today, everyone and everything you have in this moment is a beautiful thing...everything is possible...I never bought into Doris Day's little song, que sera sera...it starts with a beautiful day..like this one..and usurping every moment from it...letting nothing slip away...for the observer, this is a reminder of how precious this moment is...I shall hold the thought of healing and of sharing the greatest of life's moments being now...as you all are...one loving family holding dearly to all that is precious and worthwhile...

    you are a very unique voice on this xanga...moreso than most, because of your life experience and what you do have to say is always substantial in and of itself...

    je vous en remercie mon chat!

    regards...

    onerise

  • Wow! That tree is beautiful! I want to hug it. I will keep your family in my thoughts.

  • Hello Michel:  Just popping in to say Hi.  Hope all is well with you and your family.  Raining here so not a pleasant day.  Shirley

  • Hey!!! Happy almost halloween!!!

    :) I hope its a great one!

    I may be to old to be excited, but some of my young enthusiasm lingers....

    http://www.xanga.com/Images/heart.gif

  • Oh no! i just read you post on your daughter. I am SO sorry!

    :(
    .
    .
    .
    _
    *

  • I hope your daughter in law is doing better Michel. Will continue to keep them in prayers.

    God Bless,

    Ren

  • We just found out last week that my uncle has cancer. I hate that stuff, 'cause it's bad.  My heart goes out to you loved one. It has to unset you too, you ole softy. Hugs to you all there in France.

  • That tree is awesome. I love the way you did the generation thingy.

  • I love the old tree. I am still praying. Judi

  • I hope and pray for her to recover soon.Lung cancers are curable if diagnosed in the early stages.What surprises me is that she never smoked tobbacco in any form.All the more reasons for active smokers to stop causing anymore harm to non smokers (passive smokers) like your daughter in law.

      A Lesson for smokers(including myself)!! thanks!

    praying for her long and healthy life,

    Ashar

  • I'll DEFINITELY say some prayers for ALL of you.  Take care of yourselves, and God bless.

  • My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family in this such a bad time. So many young people coming down sick and with cancer. Take care and God Bless you.

  • Hello, dear Michel...hope your weekend is going well...thanks for stopping by...I just had some tea with mom, she is due to turn 80 next month and is in very good health...I am lucky to have her...I am half spanish-half italian, and my mom is the spanish side...we have many relatives in Madrid....sometimes, I think I should just give up this life here in the states and move to Spain...I think I would probably love it!  My sister lives in Dallas as well, and I have an aunt, uncle and cousins here, too.  I don't know of any relatives in Italy, but was in Rome last fall...it was gorgeous!  I grew up around many foreigners, my grandparents always had people over to the house...both spanish and italian...lots of paella and chicken and rice....what are your favorite foods there?  Do you like to cook, or does your wife do all the cooking?!  *grin*    Hugs, Lowie 

  • My prayers for your daughter in law and her family  I am terrible at math and will try and figure out the number of people who were involved in bringing about my life... It would be interesting to meet these ancestors... what a thought

  • I will pray for your DIL every night that God will heal her completely...you are all in my prayers

    that is amazing to think about that many people loved each other to get to me!  and you!!!

    God bless you and Janine(((hugs)))

  •   I will certainly keep your daughter in law in my prayers. What a terrible situation. Your family is so close, I know that you will all help each other as much as possible.

       Thanks for showing us this beautiful tree. The trunk reminds me of a Van Gogh painting, the way the bark twists around.All the things this tree must have seen!

  •  Hi sweety hope you and the family aredoing well sorry i haven't been around been pretty buzzy with my 2 grandbabies daughter got a job and Isit with the babies. God Bless

  • Hi, Michel.

    So sorry about missing that last bit of imformation.  Now, I understand.  Prayers are with you all.  Hope you have a nice Halloween weekend.  Take care, and God bless you and your family.

    Love & Friendship,

    ~Kim~

  • How are you Michel. Hope all is well for you. Judi

  • I will be lifting up prayers for your daughter-in-law. I hope all is well.   Blessings, kc

  • What a beautiful tree!  I love the story of the age and all that have been in that 1000 years.  I am sorry for the cancer, I lost my daddy to cancer and I know how devastating it can be.   Hopefully with all they have learned in recent years, this is one they can control.  My prayers are with you and all as you all go thru this terrible ordeal.  Yes you must be ready, May God bless you and be with you all ! ! ! !  Love and hugs, Michel and Janine ! ! ! !  May you both sleep with the angels and wake up fully rested and feeling as healthy as a teen and ready for a brand new day and all it has to bring us ! ! !   Take care my friends! ! ! ! !  Have a much better week and a more wonderful following week ! ! !

  • My problens seem as nothing compared to yours im praying for your daughter inlaw. love fancy

  • I pray for you and wish I could do more,
    I Pray for You and Wish I Could Do More
    But more I cannot do from far away.
    Like leaves before the wind we cannot stay,
    Ripped dancing, dancing to the forest floor.
    I wish I could your ailing health restore
    And bring you to the strength of yesterday,
    But all we mortal souls can do is pray
    That God might alter what we have in store.
    The beauty in our fragile life is love,
    The only thing that makes the moment matter,
    The golden thread that binds us all in light.
    I wish, I wish I could your pain remove,
    But like a wall the truth my will must shatter,
    And so I send my prayers into the night.

  • The old olive tree is so beautiful!!!!!!That was a treat for my sences!!!!!

  • Hello, darlin'...hope your weekend was fine...we enjoyed the cupcakes yesterday at mom's house, and we enjoyed tea with them...no cats or mice around!  Thinking of you!  Thanks for your comments, Hugs, Lowie

  • So sorry to hear about your daughter-in-law. I pray that all will go well for her.

    What an interesting tree, and your computation of the past centuries/generations is mind-boggling!

  • She is in my prayers and thoughts! Along with you, Michael

  • It's amazing to think how many ancestors we have. I suppose if one goes back far enough, we are all related by blood.

  • How wonderful that the olive tree has survived.  I like the way you did the math on the love ststistics.  Of course I will pray for your daughter-in-law.

  • thats amazing how old that tree is..

    c'est beau...

    i hope all is well and i hope to hear from you soon

    Happy Halloweenn!

    -Matieu.

  • i didnt even see that last part.

    im sorry. i hope everything goes well for you and ill keep you and her in my thoughts

  • We refer to the 3 main meals as breakfast, lunch, and dinner but in some parts of the U.S. they refer to them as breakfast, dinner, and supper. In one of my posts I called our evening meal supper instead of dinner, so my daughter had to give me a hard time about it!

  • Only two girls, mama had, and I'm alot older than you think *wink* (40 - something)...we are 7 years apart, and I am the eldest...how many siblings do you have?  Where are they now, and your parents??  Much love, spicy girl Lowie!

  • Happy Halloween Michel. Do you celebrate Halloween in France. Judi

  • Well Happy All Saints Day Michel, Judi

  • Thank you for the sweet comments, Michel.  Yes, the struggle is there every morning, but I am trying to remind myself that many days this winter, when it is bad out, I may not be able to get to the swimming pool.  I must make the best of it while the roads are clear.  Not to mention that I always feel so much better when I go.

    I hope all is "going well".  I continue to think about your daughter-in-law and pray for her healing.  I pray too, for your strength, and that of Janine, that your courage will be strong for them. It is hard to know what is going on from this side of things, but I don't have to know.  I just have to trust that God will provide whatever you need.

  • Bonjour, Michel!

    I do apologize for not dropping in for such a long time. I have not been in Xanga very much for the past three weeks. I have just not been in the spirit of writing much lately! I am hoping to do an update this week, since I have been missing for so long. Please do not take my absence personal. I still consider you my very favorite Xangan of all!

    I have a special place in my heart for olive trees, as they have a very special meaning in the Bible. I will certainly keep your daughter-in-law in my thoughts and prayers, as well as your family. It is such a hard thing to deal with, and it is a horrible thing that she is so young. Not much older than me!

    Happy Halloween, my friend! God bless.

  • I am so very sorry to hear about your daughter-in-law!  I am praying for her and for those who will be caring for her.  I am sure it is a great comfort to her knowing that she has you all to help through this very difficult time.

    Love and God's Blessings to you and Janine and your family,

    xoxo Cat

  • Michel,

    Thank you.  I sure hope everything is well with you.  I see you have not been posting.  You are welcome for the comment.  = )  Take care. 

    Love & Friendship,

    ~Kim~

  • I'm thinking about your family.  I pray that things are ok.  Haven't heard from you for awhile.

  • A wonderful tree of life.....So sorry about your daughter in law...it is so young...I hope that the medical profession can help her. All the best.

  • Wise advice.

    :)

    I still love your tree, and wish your daughter strength.

  • I'm sorry, I haven't been by your site in a while so I am just reading this wonderful post about the olive tree of love and the sad news about your daughter in law. I looked at the picture of her, she is beautiful. I will definitely be praying for her healing and for God to bless you all in this trying time.

  • Hopefully love will come before my patience is worn thin!!

    Laurie

  • Hi, Michel!

    Thanks for stopping in.  Always nice to hear from you. 

    When you get a chance...please come meet my friend, Larry, and view his beautiful paintings.  I think you will enjoy them very much. 

    Hope all is well with you, and your family.  Yes.  I am very excited about my job.  I am all set now, and have everything I need.

    Take care.  God Bless.

    Love & Friendship, 

    ~Kim~

  • How are you and your family faring with your Daughter-in-laws illness. I am still praying. Judi

  • comment cela va-t-il pour votre belle-fille ?

    toutes mes amitiés en ce jour de la Toussaint

    et une image de Louisa heureuse avec nous ici http://www.flickr.com/photos/bb_am/286612768/

  • How is your daughter-in-law?! healing wishes sent to all. Winter is a season too long. Happy Thursday!! Laurie

  • wow I never thought of it that way. You always impress me with new perspectives and ideas.

    Best wishes to your daughter in law for a speedy recovery and to your family. Much love.

  • I love olives ,I eat them when ever i get good ones,like at the Italian Market in Philly http://www.phillyitalianmarket.com/market/9thstreet.htm

  • I'm so sorry to read about your daughter in law!  I will pray for her.

    The tree is magnificent.  It is beautiful like a natural sculpture.  I have done some generational calculations like you write about...it's staggering to think of the number of people we're descended from.  Once I started calculating, I realized that every person on this earth could not have had half a million DIFFERENT ancestors within 4 generations...there were not that many people on the earth.  So then I realized that an enormous amount of our ancestors must be the same.  We are more inter related than we ever imagined!

    Hugs,

    Lisa

  • How are you Michel? Judi

  • Prayers and hugs are being massively sent your way............ and the olive tree was beautiful thank you so much for sharing!

  • yup must have eye surgery very soon. I could use some prayers. Judi

  • i'm so sorry to hear about your loved one's struggle. healing rays and light going her way.

  • J'aime des arbres. Cet arbre a l'air d'être une âme très sage et beatiful.

  • Il est étrange quand les gens contractent le cancer de poumon et ils ne fument jamais du tabac ou communient même avec une personne qui fume du tabac. Je la garderai et sa magnifique famille dans mes pensées et prières.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

fauquet

taking care of what is around us

calendrier

October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031