January 14, 2002

  •                     56 ans plus tard .


    ...... Après le départ soudain de la batterie canadienne en 1944 ( voir l ' entrée précédente ) j ' éprouvais un sentiment de tristesse et de vide . Mon père me prit en photo aux endroits où je bavardais avec Douglas . Je tenais un panneau où son nom était inscrit , idée d ' enfant pour marquer sa présence . J ' envoyais ces photos à son adresse de Toronto ( Ontario ) au Canada . Il y eut un échange de correspondance mais les réponses étaient rares et s ' arrêtèrent en 1947 .


      La vie se chargea ensuite de m ' occuper ; études , études encore , études toujours , service militaire incluant en partie la guerre d ' Algérie , mariage , activités professionnelles de plus en plus lourdes dans l ' enseignement , 6 enfants . En Septembre 1994 j ' étais retraité sans avoir vu le temps passer . Le jeune garçon de 1944 était devenu la racine d ' une famille de 23 personnes maintenant . La famille , le jardin , la musique et la spiritualité prenaient une grande place dans ma vie de retraité .


      Un jour , le 22 Mai 2000 je reçus une lettre du fils aîné de Douglas : " Mon nom est Mike B...., je suis professeur . J ' essaie de localiser un Michel Fauquet qui habitait Marquise ( Pas de Calais ) il y a très longtemps . Mon père Douglas a rencontré Michel et sa famille quand il était en France près de la fin de la deuxième Guerre mondiale . Si vous êtes ce Michel ou connaissez un autre Michel Fauquet , s.v.p. m ' envoyer un e.mail ou écrire à l ' adresse ci  - dessous ...etc ..."


      Quel choc ! D ' un seul coup je me voyais rattraper par ma jeunesse , par tout un monde presque totalement disparu . C ' était vertigineux . Tout ce qui était latent au fond de ma mémoire revivait soudain comme les vieilles photos de 1944 au fond de leur coffre en bois . Je revoyais tout . Je n ' avais rien oublié . Douglas était bien présent dans ma mémoire . Il avait contribué avec mes parents et d ' autres à la construction de ma personnalité . Comment aurais - je pu l ' oublier ? Je me demandais pourquoi , il avait attendu 56 ans pour me rechercher . Mais , pour lui aussi la vie l ' avait fortement occupé et il devait avoir beaucoup changé .


      Quoi qu 'il en soit c ' était une merveilleuse histoire . Aussi je répondis aussitôt par e.mail au fils aîné en envoyant les doubles des fameuses photos que j ' avais adressées à la fin de la guerre . Mais je précisais que je n ' étais pas bon en Anglais et que j ' entendais très mal l ' Anglais parlé . A ma grand surprise j ' attendis encore 3 mois pour avoir une réponse . Je commençais à me poser des questions . Je me demandais aussi comment renouer des liens entre des personnalités qui avaient tant évolué au cours de plus d ' un demi - siècle . Heureusement en Août 2000 une femme énergique , la fille aînée de Douglas , Lynn , prit l ' affaire en mains .


     ....à suivre ....

                               56 years later .


      After the sudden departure of the canadian battery in 1944 ( see the precedent entry ) I felt sadness and emptyness . My father took pictures of me at the places where I used to talk with Douglas . I held a placard where his name was written , a child ' s idea to mark his presence . I sent those pictures to his address in Toronto ( Ontario ) in Canada . There was a correspondence but the answers were unfrequent and stopped in 1947 .


      Then life undertook to busy me with studies , again studies , always studies , military service including a part of Algerian war , marriage , heavier and heavier activities in teaching , six children . In September 1994 I was retired and I have not seen time running away . Now , the young boy of 1944 was become the root of a family containing 23 persons . Family , gardening , music , spirituality took a large place in my retired gentleman ' s life .


      One day , on the 22 May 2000 I received a letter from the Douglas ' eldest son : " My name is Mike B.... and I am a teacher in Canada . I am trying to locate the Michel Fauquet who used to live in Marquise ( Pas de Calais , France ) a long time ago . My father Douglas B .... met him and his family when he was in France near the end of the second world war . If you are that Michel , please email me and let me know or write a letter to the adress below ..... " .


      What a choc ! Suddenly I was caught again by my youth , by an almost disappeared world , by the History ! It was vertiginous . What it was latent at the bottom of my memory brusquely lived again like the old pictures of 1944 at the botton of their wooden chest . I saw again all things . I had forgotten nothing . Douglas was well present in my memory . He had contributed with my parents and others at the construction of my personality . How would I have been able to forget him ? I wondered why he had been waiting for 56 years to search me . But for him also , life should have been very busy .


      Whatever it was a wonderful story . So , as soon as I answered by e.mail to the eldest son in sending the same famous pictures sent at the war II end . But I specified I was not good in English language and I heard very badly the spoken English . Then I was very surprised to have to wait again about three months before to have an answer . I began to wonder . I wondered also how to do for re - etablishing links between two personalities who had been so much evoluting during more an half - century . Fortunatly in August 2000 an energetic woman , the Douglas ' eldest daughter , Lynn , handled the situation .


     ....to follow .......

Comments (22)

  • Oh Michel! This is all so exciting! Even though I know the story well and have even been there with you when you went to meet the family after all these years, it is still wonderful for me to be able to read this as you share it with others! I await your next entry!!! be well my friend,
    Deb

  • thanks for continuing your story...  it's nice to hear such inspiring tales! 

    and from your comment at my site, what do you mean when you said...  'It' s normal James you had a little spleen from Texas'? 

    until next time...  ilymsc&f&c&x...

  • Je parie vous avez voulu sauter sur un avion à ce moment-là pour le voir ?

  • I just lost a day my  XAngacraft needed repairs! Thanks for the visit!  Would love to see some photos! Still enjoy reading!  I flew over and could not make out what vegetables you are  going to grow.  Egg shells,coffee grounds and tea leaves are great to add to the soil ! But you must have a compost box!? My favorite :pomme de terre and tomate! Oh! and beet roots are wonderful when fresh from the garden!!!!  Until next time!   @--}--}----  K

  • Incredible story of history and time. I see you have another gardener in you midst. potatos and tomatos are great to grow in gardens. We live in farm country, so much is grown here.

  • I used to date a man who wanted to live in a castle. He was a dark and intriguing creature, not unlike the characters in books where I live now. His speciality was music. Your world is in France, as is your history?

  • Now that you have started telling you 'll have to go on.
    thanks a lot to sharing with us.
    Ciao

  • Now that you have started telling you 'll have to go on.
    thanks a lot to sharing with us.
    Ciao

  • What a wonderful story and travel through personality development...and the circle of life...growing and living today...

  • = = = =
    I share with you
    my words - so bold
    tho not invited
    they must be told

    =========     *ForgottenReality*

    .

  • Its amazing how sending a letter and making that first move can trigger events in this way. I look forward to seeing how this story develops.......

  • Chaque petit ''a suivre'' m'invite a revenir et a chaque visite je suis ravie. Les 23 membres de ta famille ont de la chance!

    J'attend la suite...

    I&X&C&FlymbsJ...

  • What a heart warming story. i can't wait for the next chapter.

  • It is an amazing story. Glad Lynn took over...

  • what a nice story...I love reading it..It brightened my spirits so much...

    I cant wait to read the next entry..Thank you for sharing it with us..

    Hope youre having a beautifull day..

    rubymoon

  • I love the story of the timelessness of friendship and of the history of the war.  I anxiously await more of the story!

    rr

  • J'aime beaucoup mieux cette histoire de l'amitié et de la patience que beaucoup des histoires qu'on lit ou on voit aux cinés.  Merci de (pour?) partager et pour visitant mon site (?) toujours aussi....vous m'encourager beaucoup beaucoup, plus que vous pouvez savoir/connaître!  (mon français horrible.  je suis très désolée!)

  • I can't wait to read the rest of the story.

  • You should date stamp these posts so your current subscribers could enjoy them. 

  • This is great in conveying time...how it flies...

  • that is so wonderful!!! just reading it sent chills through me!!!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

fauquet

taking care of what is around us

calendrier

January 2002
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031