January 9, 2002

  •                             I had a comrade ....

      In 1944 I was 11 years old and I lived in Marquise , little town situated between Boulogne - sur - Mer and Calais near France ' s northwest coast and particularly near the Cape Griz - Nez transformed by Germans in a dangerous fortress threatening Britain with big guns . My father was a worker in a factory and my mother remained at home , what it was frequent at this time . I was the only one child of the family .

      During the War the school was occuped by germans , so we went to the elementary school half every day in a little house . With my friends we had a half - wild life and we played in the grazings differents kinds of games often warrior games . We did not like Germans at this time . Not only they were the envaders but they appropriated all goods . We had nothing . Very little to eat . My mother Marthe had to make clothes , sometimes bread and even...soap ! My father Emile resoled  shoes with bits of old tires . Fortunatly he had a friend , farmer in a next village . He helped him during his short holidays at the fields works and at the harvest ( works with horses ) . So we got some potatoes , pork , eggs and butter but not too much . My father was not a soldier . He had been called to remain in his factory which made arming and shells , if I well remember . He had not given his gun and his radio post as the Germans asked . So we listened to BBC ( British radio ) in French every night during all the war what it was strictly not allowed by Germans with the risk to be deported in Germany .

      May and June 1944 were terrible months . Americans and Englishmen bombed huge areas all around us . The town of Boulogne - sur - mer was completely destroyed . Allied hoped that Germans would think the landing of american, english and canadian forces would have here , in north . Besides , Germans were building very important tubes under chalk hills in a village near Marquise called Landrethun in order to shoot missiles at England , especially at London . So , many big american bomber planes that we called " flying fortress " always bombed the Landrethun ' s area . American planes always were staying high in the sky to avoid the German anti - aircraft defence and threw their bombs moreless approximatively . One of them reached the objective from time to time but they reached anything else . My grand parents lived in Landrethun .

      One night my grand parents and their three last children heard the planes come in . They got up immediately and ran away to the shelter they had dug in the garden to about 25 meters from the house . As soon as they were in , they heard a terrible thunder . They were frightened to death . My youngest aunt ( Yolande ) went out of the shelter when the quietness was restored and shouted : " Mom ! we have no more house ! There is nothing more ! " At the place of the house there was a huge crater . The bom was just fallen on the bedroom where they were just before . No more house , neither furnitures nor clothes ! Nothing ! At the far end of the house the roof of the cowshed was fallen on the four cows that were crying , their spinal column was broken . Germans brought them for butchery . My grand father became sick and died the next year .

      My father built for them a kind of " cottage " , in reality a shack containing only one big room with wood taken up from german positions . Germans indeed were more and more running away but not all of them . The  Cape Gris - Nez  remained a dangerous fortress where they resisted . And , at last , the canadian army arrived in Marquise ( September 1944 ) . French people were in the streets congratulating the soldiers and fraternizing wih them . But , as soon as Canadiens were there , german guns , turned inland , shot us from the Cape Griz Nez . Peace was not there yet .

      The canadian artillery arrived and shot the Cape Gris nez .  A battery was at the end of the street where my grand parents lived in Landrethun . I used to drive my bicycle from Marquise to Landrethun where my father built a shack for my grand parents and since the canadian battery was nearby I always was with the soldiers and looked at how the guns were working . At this time I was an intrepid  boy probably . I was proud to be among these soldiers who freed us and fought against ennemy for us . I had the impression to participate . I wanted to have a friend among these soldiers . I was a little the troop ' s kid . Quickly I fraternized with Douglas . He was kind and protected me strictly because I was not very prudent and even not at all . He was a straight man and I felt that . I don' t remember how we understood each other since I had not learned English yet and he had some remembrances only about French .  Some words were sufficient probably . He was my comrade soldier that I was happy and proud to get . I wonder now how I could enter the battery . I asked someone " Is Dougles there ? " . If he was there I entered and wandered in the camp . From time to time we talked . We talked about the war ( I was informed ) , about his wife and also my family .

      My parents invited Douglas for a meal at home in Marquise .I took him at his battery in landrethun and we walked and rode in bicycle along a lane between big marble quarries . My parents had put on the table a dusty bottle of wine to honour him . I wondered where they have had this bottle since we had nothing . I think it was a bottle remaining from my first Holy Communion Day in previous June . It must be carefully hidden .

      One day I went to Landrethun . The battery was gone and also my comrade .

    to follow ........

    Below , the translation in French.

Comments (26)

  • That's an amazing story. There were so many hard times you must have had to go through. I'm sorry that your grandparents house was destroyed and all of the terrible things that occurred, but it seems to have all gotten better. Reading this was very interesting, like reading a novel, since I'm in school right now, it was something good to read.

    I wanted to let you know that this summer I may be coming to Europe and stoppin in France for a few days. That is only if I pass my audition and make it into The All American Honors Chorus.

    I'll talk to you soon.

  • Truly amazing.

  • ah, a wonderful description--in English, even!  your story reminds me of the film chantal & i watched the other night--"Life Is Beatiful"...  a truly magnificent movie, if you haven't seen it already...  i can't imagine what it must've been like then & there, but your story captivates the feeling, truly.  thanks for telling it, and i'm glad that i've gotten the chance to learn about your amazing life... 

    by the way, michel, of course i've learned some french!  i'm surrounded by it all the time!  my best professor is florence, for i don't have to be embarrassed to try new words with her...  of course, when she's gone for a week at a time, we speak english mostly, but believe me--i will have french down within 6 months--i hope! 

    bonjour, mon ami...

    ilymsc&f&c&x...

  • I guess Douglas made a great impact...

    I found the part about your grand parents touching. They lost their house and their animals in a few seconds. That is tough.

  • Did you realize you were living such an amazing life? Wonderful, poignant story.

    Yes, we in Ontario do turn the garden soil in the fall and in the spring again. Farmers turn thier fields in the fall although there is a small trend towards 'no till' seeding in this area for crops like hay, canola (rapeseed), soy and the like.

  • Not until September,11th of 2001 did i realize the horrors of war. You dear people in Europe have had to deal with it for so long. Just hearing stories, or seeing movies about whatever war, just didn't affect me like The Twin Tower incedent. What your family went through during WW11 was horrid to say the least. War is such a bad thing. thankful you made it through, Dear Friend.

  • Michel, you continue to amaze me!  You could certainly write an autobiography.  I still am receiving copies of the newspaper articles from colleagues at school.  All were impressed with the rendezvous.  Someday, I promise I will write my first entry on Xanga.  For now, I am happy to browse and comment!

    Lynn

  • Our American children have no idea what true fear is. I know that our recent events have awakened people to the realities of war, but we still pretty much get to live without Gestapo at our doors.  Your story sounds terrifying. Please, pray for Carlo.

  • A wonderful story - I feel so lucky in my life that has been relatively comfortable - what a thing to have a house and then not - incroyable!

  • You are an amazing man Monsieur Fauquet. To have lived such a life and yet to be so loving and kind. I know no other man who can live up to you. The ghost has spoken and wishes to visit Paris, even if it's in her dreams.

  • Bon jour! Reading your story brings tears! I read your story first in French and then in English to see how much I understand! Will be back by Xangacraft to read more ! @--}--}----  I remember traveling in Europe and on our way to La Harve we saw many craters and even war bunkers left from that war! What memories and survival!  A votre sante! dear friend! @--}--}----

  • And sometimes we think our life is so hard. Im enjoying these storys. Keep writing.

  • mmm...i remember studying some beautiful war poetry in french...the visual images you brought up still brings tears to the eye.  i love this site and will be back often (...it also helps keep my french in shape )

  • Michel, You amaze and inspire us! You are a most vaulable 'natural resource'. I love to hear you share these things, even though some are difficult to receive. I know the times that brought you & dad(Douglas) together were not pleasant. Your memories are quite vivid, understandably. Please continue to share any of the times you recall.

    I am going to have to begin to learn French. Most of your readers can at least read the French entry. I am shamed ..lol  I shall pursue this soon, I promise!

    take care My Friend,

                                      Deb

  • War is so devastating, and solves so little. I'm lucky in the fact I haven't been personally touched by it myself.

  • What a very interesting story...I loved reading it..

    Happy New Year...

    rubymoon

  • I have to be honest, Michel. I have been thinking on leaving Xanga... I have seen so many mean people around... But blogs like this make me think better and smile as often...and stay! Thank you for your blogs!

  • What a  heart touching story and to revisit the area with the grand daughter . Thank you for sharing this story Michel . Hugs to you  love Fancy

  • I'm just reading this fantastic account so long after it was written.  This really interested me, Michel.  Many people here probably don't realize the damage the Allies did to their friends in order to liberate them.  I am very happy that the majority of your loved ones survived the horror of World War II, but am sorry to hear about your grandfather.  Thanks for sharing this wonderful account.

  • Oh my Michel how wonderful for you to share this story with us.

  • Vous avez dit : "I don't remember how we understood each other since I had not learned English yet and he had some remembrances only about French." Je pense que vous avez parlé la langue internationale des sourires, de l'amitié et de l'amour !

    Wow!  Quelle histoire!  Mes problèmes avec l'argent semblent comme aucun problème du tout quand j'ai connaissance des difficultés de guerre. J'étais triste pour votre grand-père. Quel courage votre famille a dû commencer encore.

    Remerciez le votre de dire cette histoire, mon ami. Dieu fait une manière quand ceux-ci ne semble pas être une manière.

  • Thank you for telling your story I don't know what I would of done I know how ever all you have been through and yet you still are a careing giving loving person and I'm so glad xanga let us find our friendship God Bless you and yours my dear friend

  • Thank you for sharing your story. Now were is the rest of the story. You left me wondering. Thank you for sharing though. Take care. You know we could not begin to imagine what life was like back then and now.

  • This is a bit late, but wow, what a great story!!!! I'm so glad your family was ok.

  • Thank you for sending me this link.  I'm eager to find the continuation of the story.  

    I recently read a book, The Occupied Garden, about the experiences of a Dutch family under German occupation.  Being of Dutch ancestry, I was especially interested to read of their experiences. 

    It was indeed a horrible time.  Americans can't begin to imagine the suffering war inflicted on Europeans.  Here, we had rationing of gasoline and we were encouraged to conserve all comodities for the war effort, but I don't think anybody went hungry or cold.     

  • I followed the link from your other blog. I'm so glad I did. This was such a compelling read. I've never met anybody who lived through that, and your descriptions are so vivid. I was shocked when it ended, and I would love to read more. Thank you for sharing this with us.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

fauquet

taking care of what is around us

calendrier

January 2002
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031