February 24, 2002

  •                            Le temps du Forsythia .


      Après les perces - neiges et les crocus voici le temps du Forsythia dans le Nord de la France . Vous savez , cet arbuste qui fleurit jaune avant d ' avoir ses feuilles . Ses branches s ' élancent comme des flammes sur un fond de ciel gris , à travers les averses et parmi les squelettes des grands arbres : érables , noyers et cerisiers . Période hésitante entre hiver et printemps . Beaucoup de gens sont malades . Mais la sève monte . Et bientôt la vie s ' épanouira dans la féérie du printemps . C ' est ce que nous montre le Forsythia , ce petit arbre avec ses reflets d ' or , ses reflets d ' espoir .


                               Forsythia Time .


      After the snowdrops and crocus , here is the Forsythia Time in North of France . You know this little tree that  yellow flowering before to have leaves . Its branches launch themselves like flames in front the grey sky , through the showers and among the skeletons of big trees : maple trees , walnut trees , cherry trees . Hesitant period between winter and spring . Many people are sick . But the sap is going up . And soon life will bloom in the spring fairy . That is the Forsythia shows us , this little tree with glints of gold , with glints of hope .

Comments (29)

  • Not fair that you post about Forsythia, my favorite yellow friend in the garden. Maybe I'll think about parole for you.

    Warden Nightshade

  • I love to see the Forsythia blooming. I don't have them in the garden but in the park nearby there are enough to find.

  • A bit early for those here, but can't wait to see them

  • Forsythia bloom is still a long way off here. Their blooms signal the time to uncover the hills of dirt over the roses and prune any canes that died back during the winter.

    I did force some a few weeks ago and they are just finished blooming. The very tips of either crocus or snowdrops are just beginning to appear.

    I am sorry you were both so sick--you will have to celebrate your 41st anniversary now that you are feeling better!

  • My neighbor has one of those in her back yard. It is such a lovely thing to behold. This gal has really got a green thumb. She has gorgeous flowers all season. I enjoy her yard very much.

  • happy late anniversary :)

  • I wish you could post a picture!!  Does it snow where you live?? I finally got really familiar with where your city is located after reading my book. 

    I always look forward to your posts, Michel. 

  • what a pretty blog..you're a great observer. and a great describer! your blogs help me practice reading french for school :) ! ~

  • They sound absolutely breathtaking. Thank you for visiting :)

  • In 1973 My husband and son aged 18 and I drove from Calais to Compiegne, we were to meet my Daughter her husband and her two children there. We arrived late at night as it was quite a long drive. Gillian said "Mum you must come and see the toilets" so needing to use them I went. I was so amazed at the square in the floor that one had to stoop over, I had to go and get my Camera so took my first slide of France. Good job I don't have to use that kind these days as due to arthritic legs I cannot stoop. We then toured several places Tours, one I remember, and Biarritz. We liked that but as we were anxious to get into San Sebastian, Spain, we didn't stay there long. We knew we would be coming back through France again. The most disappointment to me was I only saw the suburbs of Paris, as my daughter and her family had spent the time waiting for us to join them by seeing it. So we pressed on. Still after going all through Spain we did get back into France, before going into Switzerland. We saw some very nice scenery but unless I look up a diary we have of all places visited I can't remember names. I am sure your forsythia will look lovely, and thanks for your visits. Cheers Portia. Did the other card turn up if not they obviously don't send to France.

  • YEP.. I can smell spring in the air already and its only February. I hope your feeling better?

  • Chez moi il fleurissent un peu en retard,mais je vais les regarder chez les autres.

    J'aime beaucoup la couleur jaune.

    Bien à toi.

  • Mémoires de triming les buissons de forsethia dans parfaitement en rond une forme. La passion de ma mère. Les voici qui se développent sauvages, s'étendant dehors dans toutes les directions.

    You won't be able to read this as well as Carlo's French. He amazes me with so many languages.

    The Warden

  • Spring is in the air, mon ami.  Time for a rebirth.

  • I love flowers, and cant wait until spring to see them blowing in the wind in full bloom...

    rubymoon

  • Vos fleurs sont pareiles comme le nôtre. Ils fleurissent dans l'ordre pareil! Le vôtre est la saison qui fleurit est deux semaines devant le nôtre. Je reçois la lecture excitée des fleurs ici. Je sais que mes fleurs ne seront pas longues! Vous remercier. J'aime vos histoires.

    Your flowers are the same as ours.  They bloom in the same order!  Yours blooming season is two weeks ahead of ours.  I get excited reading about the flowers here.  I know my flowers won't be long!  Thank you.  I love your stories.

  • une jolie histoire

  • How wonderful to see such hope! Nature brings us tangible reminders of abstract feelings like hope!  @-}-}----

  • The cycle of Life!

    rr

  • c'est un des choses que j'apprecie de le printemps en Europe, les arbres que tout d'un coup montrent ses fleurs.. c'est tellement magic! uniquement pour ca il vaut la pein  de passer un hiver si froid...

  • here, in february, it is still quite dull and grey
    i so look forward to warmer weather...and of course, flowers :)
    i'm glad you get a chance to enjoy and observe your springtime :)

  • Your messages are always so poetic.

  • And the narcissus, I saw the narcissus today!

  • Where are my yellow flower photos?

  • You write beautifully. Isn't it nice to really believe that Spring is coming with its new beginnings.

  • I think this is a good place to be. I love it when you talk of your flowers.

  • Thank you for going to my site and commenting on my cooking; my wife and I both cook often, and my name is Michael, as well. Surely you noticed the beans were in a "Le Creuset" pot!

    In North Texas, where we live, it is a perilous time for gardeners...things begin to bloom here early, but we have the frost that can come and ruin the blooms. Until March 15, we keep our fingers crossed and hope!

    Vive Le France!

  • Ah... forsythia... now THERE's a plant I'm familiar with...

    quand j'étais jeune et faisait mal, ma mère me frappait avec une baton de forsythia....

  • Ah, a little forsythia, and a glimmer of hope.  The hope that spring will come and colour and warmth will return.  Hmmm... I sure could use that today!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

fauquet

taking care of what is around us

calendrier

February 2002
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728