December 3, 2014

  • The psalm 80 and me/ Janine's Birthday

    Le psaume 80 et moi.

    The psalm 80 and me

     

    English version below the picture.

     

    Dimanche dernier était le premier Dimanche de l' avent et j' assistais à la messe. Je pris quelques photos et vidéos pour mettre dans le site internet de ma paroisse dont je suis responsable .
    J ' ai donc enregistré le psaume 80 qui est un chant d ' appel et d'attente . Les versets étaient chantés par une jeune femme et un jeune homme . Je dois dire que j' ai été touché par les mots , par la fraicheur des voix et l' harmonie des mélodies . Pour accentuer cette impression de fraicheur j' entendais  le babil et les petits cris des jeunes enfants qui se tenaient avec leur parents derrière moi( on les entend dans la vidéo). On notera aussi sur les marches de l' autel la lampe du veilleur dans l' attente de la naissance du Christ.

    Voici donc ce psaume ( en fait ce sont seulement des extraits du psaume 80)

    Dieu, fais nous revenir;
    que ton visage s'éclaire,
    et nous serons sauvés. bis)

    Berger d'Israël, écoute,
    toi qui conduis ton troupeau, resplendis !
    Réveille ta vaillance
    et viens nous sauver.

    Dieu, fais nous revenir;
    que ton visage s'éclaire,
    et nous serons sauvés.

    Dieu de l'univers reviens !
    Du haut des cieux, regarde et vois :
    Visite cette vigne, protège-la,
    celle qu'a plantée ta main puissante

    Dieu, fais nous revenir;
    que ton visage s'éclaire,
    et nous serons sauvés.

    Psalm 80  (excerpts)

    Restore us, O God;
      make your face shine on us,
      that we may be saved. (bis)

     Hear us, Shepherd of Israel,
    you who lead Joseph like a flock. shine forth
    Awaken your might;
    come and save us.

    Restore us, O God;
        make your face shine on us,
        that we may be saved

    Return to us, God Almighty!
    Look down from heaven and see!
    Watch over this vine,
    the root your right hand has planted,

    Restore us, Lord God Almighty;
        make your face shine on us,
        that we may be saved

     Last Sunday November 30 was the first Sunday of the Advent time . I attended the Mass and took some photos and videos for the Parish 's website that I manage .
    I recorded Psalm 80 which is a calling song and waiting. The verses were sung by a young woman and a young man. I must say that I have been touched by the words, by the freshness of voices and  the harmony of the  melodies. To accentuate this impression of freshness I heard  the babble and little cries of young children who were standing behind me with their parents (we hear them in the video). Note also on the steps of the altar the vigil lamp pending the birth of Christ.

    Here  above this psalm (in fact they are only excerpts from Psalm 80)

    ---------------

    Et le jour suivant, Lundi 1er Décembre je plantais des bulbes de tulipes le long de l' entrée et autour de la cour . Je montrais à Janine que je tenais la vie dans ma main . Un bulbe n'est -il pas exactement ce même individu de tulipe qui avait disparu à la fin du printemps ? Ce n' est pas une autre tulipe , c ' est un morceau de sa  tige qui a formé ce bulbe , une sorte de bourgeon.   N ' est - ce pas tout un symbole d ' espérance ?  Je pensais au psaume 80.

    Je vous souhaite un heureux temps de l' Avent.

    tulipes 1er décembre
    Photo taken by Janine fauquet December 1, 2014
    And the next day, Monday 1st December I planted tulip bulbs along the driveway and around the yard. In showing the bulbs to Janine I told her I held life in my hand. Is not that  tulip bulb exactly the same individu as the tulip which disappeared at the end of spring? This is not another tulip, it's a piece of the stem which formed the bulb, a kind of bud. Is not it a symbol of hope?  I thought of psalm 80.

      I wish you a happy Advent time
    ________________________________________
     Aujourd'hui 3 Décembre est l' anniversaire de Janine.
    Today December 3, is Janine ' s birthday : always young.
    2014 Août Michel,Michèle,Janine
                                                                                                                                                                                                                   photo Gérard Maison  30 Août 2014
      Janine on the right with me at the 50th wedding anniversary of her sister Michèle , at the middle  . August 30,2014.Janine à droite  avec moi au 50ème anniversaire de mariage de sa sœur Michèle au milieu. 30 Août 2014

Comments (45)

  • so very, very lovely, Michel! Thank you for sharing the video ~ and a blessed Advent to you and yours.

    It was so interesting to me to see the inside of your church ~ so very different than what I am used to ~ so lovely. If you would be interested in seeing what our meetinghouse looks like ~ you can see LOTS of photos (pick and choose what interests you) at this site ~ http://lylyflora.phanfare.com/2014/

    You might especially enjoy the "Thanksgiving Eve Service" selection listed under the 2013 photos.

  • Thanks, Michel. This blessed me. Happy for you.

    frank

  • You have a beautiful church, and the video of your service was moving. "...watch over this vine, the root Your right hand has planted. Restore us, Lord God Almighty, that we may be saved."
    Those word of hope were appropriate to those looking forward to the coming of the Messiah, and to us beginning the Christmas celebration, who, at times feel as if the joy and hope in life has departed for other shores.
    As always, I look forward to reading your posts. God bless you and your family this Christmas. I hope it is filled with joy.

  • Hi Michel, I always love seeing a photo of you and your happy face. :-)
    Tulips are my favorite flower, and yes, first Sunday of Advent... Hope. :-)
    Many blessings to you friend,
    Lynn :-)

  • re your comment: It's not in Florida, Michel ~ but Indiana! and the meetinghouse was built in 2013. :) Glad you enjoyed the photos ~

  • We do actually have a district (branch) in Florida, but our specific district meetinghouse is in Indiana ~ kind of confusing, I guess ~ :)

  • Yes! A symbol of hope! and hope and the promise of Spring (in the earth and in our lives) is always needed! :-)
    The song was so beautiful and brought tears to my eyes.
    The Psalms have such great application to our day to day lives. :-)
    (((HUGS)))

  • That religious of you. Why number 80?

    • The book of Psalms is a book of the Bible. It contains 150 praise poems or psalms. There are 150 of them and the one of the entry above is number 80. This has beeen chosen by the Church to be sung at the first Sunday of Advent time where Christians are waiting something or someone from God :Jesus or Christ( Christmas)

  • Beautiful music and thoughts. Hope springs eternal. So thankful for lovely people and their influence on this world! :-)

  • I thought you were catholic.

    • Since I have said that I was attending the Mass you should infer that I was obviously Catholic, but a Catholic is a Christian as Orthodox and Protestants. The Bible (Old and New Testament) is the book of base all Christians. The Old Testament is also the book of the Jewish religion. Is not Jesus a Jewish ?. And I add that the beginning of the Bible is also the basis of Islam (Genesis). I'm a little surprised by your" question". Please, tell me more about you.

  • Michel this video and the words you shared here made my heart smile and so inspirational.
    Planting tulips already. Oh how jealous I am that the weather is permitting planting when we are sitting in the ice, rain mode.
    Have a wonderful week.

  • TY so very much of your comment on my photo post of fog at the docks.
    Stay safe with all of the flooding there.

  • TY so very much for your comment on my post asking where people were getting the animated snow on their Word Press back grounds.

  • TY for your comment on my photo of gull in flight.

  • TY so very much for your comment on my post about Worlds Aids day, and we keep all in our prayers.

  • Happy Birthday to our most precious Janine. I feel very blessed by this post! Thank you Michel <3 XXXOOO

  • Happy Birthday to Janine! :-)
    I hope and pray she has a wonderful birthday celebration! :-)
    Love and Birthday-HUGS!!! :-)

  • Thank you for your comments on my WordPress site, Michel! :-)
    I love the photo you added here! You and Janine are so beautiful! I'm so glad you two are in the world! :-)
    HUGS!!! :-)

  • Happy Birthday Janine.
    Beautiful photo. :-)

  • Happiest ever birthday wishes, Janine ~

  • Happy Birthday Janine. Both of you make such a handsome couple.
    Love the Psalm Michel. The video rendition of the psalm is beautiful.

  • Janine is lovely.

  • A happy birthday to Janine! She is certainly beautiful - both inside and out!

  • That was lovely, and speaking of lovely, happy birthday to Janine.
    Thank you for checking in with me. I have been a bit "under the weather" but with a change in antibiotics I hope to be feeling better soon, which is good, it's time to decorate for Christmas. Happy Advent, Michel.

  • @fauquet I have twitter @789vietnam

  • I always enjoy your visits. About your comment. I actually prefer dentist to doctor, although neither one is Disney World. (Big Evil Grin) :P

  • Happy Birthday to Janine.

    ryc: the turkey roll wasn't burned, the bread rolls were. lol I put up a post today too.

  • Happy belated birthday to your wife! :)

  • Happy Late Birthday to your lovely wife.

  • What a wonderful post! Happy belated birthday to Janine.

  • TY so very much of your comment on my snow man mooing photo.

  • Michel you are so right about the load in the photo of the log truck that tipped over going around the corner to the bridge.
    What it was hauling is just scrub wood and is garbage.
    TY for your comments.

  • Toujours jeunes et aimants! C'est le secret!
    Sincères félicitations à Janine à qui nous penserons chaque année car juste avant Sonia :-) Grand merci de vos voeux pour notre petite-fille!
    Cordiales salutations et tout de bon pour la semaine prochaine en particulier!
    A bientôt!

  • Sorry to hear you get spammers her eon the new Xanga.

  • Hello Michel and Ty for your comment on my photo of the city putting up Christmas decorations.
    No the trees are not real but are out door artificial trees.

  • That's a lovely psalm, Michel. And a belated happy birthday to janine! Love the picture!

    Happy holidays!!

  • the psalms are balms for our souls, I can't make the video work but I'm sure it's beautiful...Happy Belated Birthday to Janine! I've asked for tulip bulbs for Christmas! ILYM

  • Ty so very much for your comments on my post about the plastic outdoor santa that has created so many memories for me and my family.

  • True Michel, never have been shy about yelling who my team is.

  • Happy Birthday. :-)

  • Happy belated birthday to Janine. You are both such a handsome couple - for sure!
    I love the Psalms, and Advent! Thank you for sharing these. I had not realized that you are managing the website of your parish. That was a beautiful melody.
    Love to you and Janine,
    Carolyn

  • what a great psalm. Happy Season of celebrating life, family and Christmas. Many blessings on you and your lovely wife.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

fauquet

taking care of what is around us

calendrier

December 2014
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031