November 2, 2005


  • A la Toussaint 2005


    On All Saints Day 2005


    English version below the pictures


      Depuis Vendredi denier Janine et moi sommes allés dans six cimetières disséminés dans la région pour méditer et prier sur les tombes de la famille .Nous les fleurissons aussi .( comme au moment des Rameaux ). C ' est une tradition pour nous comme pour beaucoup de Français . Bonne tradition qui nous permet de sentir encore bien vivants nos parents , grands - parents , oncles et tantes et de nous sentir liés éternellement à eux dans une chaîne d ' amour . Ces visites dans les cimetières ne sont donc pas tristes et donnent un mélange d ' émotion , de douceur et d ' espoir . Certes nous pourrions penser à nos défunts en restant chez nous mais je crois que tant que je serai capable de le faire j ' irai leur rendre visite là où ils ont vécu et là où ils m 'ont aimé .



    Northern France . Réty cemetery by the wood  Photo M.Fauquet 28th October2005



    Northen France Woignarue cemetery by the sea ( on the background ) Photo MFauquet 31Oct 05




         Since last Friday , Janine and I went to six cemeteries scattered in the area to ponder and pray in front of the family graves . We flowered them also . ( as at Palm Sunday ) . This is a tradition for us as for many French people . Good tradition which allows us to feel our parents , grand- parents , uncles , aunts always alive and to feel us eternally linked to them in a chain of love .Those visits in the cemeteries are not sad and give a mixture of emotion , sweetness and hope . Of course we would be able to think of our defuncts in staying at home but I believe as far as I would be able I will go to visit them at the place where they lived and loved me


    -------


       Et hier  , 1er Novembre ,  jour de la Toussaint , à l ' église remplie j ' entendais la douceur du Sermon sur la Montagne , le message d ' espoir de l ' Apocalypse de St Jean: " Tous ces gens vêtus de blanc , qui sont - ils , et d ' où viennent - ils ? ………Ils viennent de la grande épreuve , ils ont lavé leurs vêtement ,ils les ont purifiés dans le sang de l ' agneau " ( Ap 7 : 13 - 14 ) . Je dirigeais le chœur et parmi de nombreux chants polyphoniques , nous chantâmes un chant grégorien venant du XIII ou XIVème siècle , le fameux " Gaudeamus omnes " qui signifie : " Tous ensemble réjouissons - nous dans le Seigneur , célébrons ce jour de fête en l ' honneur de tous les saints …… " . Les saints , c ' est - à - dire tous nos défunts .


    Oui , vraiment , la Toussaint doit être et est un jour de joie et d ' espérance dans la foi dans le Christ . .



    I have at home this old book containing the Gregorian song " gaudeamus omnes"    XIII or XIVth century   


           And yesterday at All Saints Day ( 1st of November ) in the crowded church I heard the sweetness of the Sermon on the Mount , the message of hope in the Apocalypse by St John : "These in white robes—who are they, and where did they come from ? ……..These are they who have come out of the great tribulation; they have washed their robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb. "  ( Apo 7 ; 13 -14 ) . I directed the choir and among many polyphonic songs we sang a Gregorian song coming from the XIII or XIVth century , the famous "  Gaudeamus omnes " . It means :  " Let us all rejoice in the Lord, celebrating a festival day in honor of all the Saints ….."  .The saints ? Those are all of our defuncts .


    Yes , really , All Saints Day must be and it is a Day of Joy and Hope in Faith to Christ ..


    --------------


    Ps : This  is my faith and my hope but I don' t want to offend anyone . It ' s simply an aspect of my life . I respect all beliefs .

Comments (160)

  • For me, All Saints Day is a holy day of obligation, at least that is what my roman catholic church upbringing calls it.  I agree that it is not a sad day but a joyous one.  Thank you for sharing your deep faith, michel!

  • That is beautiful Michel - I love hearing about how other people view things and of beliefs and religions... all are beautiful when they are stated like you said respect

  • Visit a cemetery? Geez, I can't remember the last time I visited a cemetery.

    "O when the Saints come marching in, when the Saints come marching in..."

  • All Saints day is a very fitting way to start the month of November which is the month that the church prays for people that have died. This is truly wonderful tradition that you have in France by visiting all the graves of your family members . As we can see from the photographs that many other people have done that by the amount of flowers on the graves. The cemetery by the sea must be a very peaceful place. 

  • YAY! I am a Christian too, so I am not offended in the least. That's a beautiful post. You are a very optomistic man. If I were a young woman in the prime of your life I'd bet I'd be sweet on you.

  • awesome! i love that you and i share the same beliefs! beautiful pictures!!! have a good day!
    -becky

  • Michel, i was just commenting to a girl from Ecuador, they are also celebrating All Saints Day.  In my country we celebrate dec 7th.  Dia de los muertos or Day of the Dead.  We visit our loved ones, make tremendous meals and eat at the cemetery with them.. After eating, we provide full plates of food, and they are left overnite.  The way to nurture their souls.  We make a Food called Fiambre!!  It is alot of work tomake the food.  When you go back to the cemetery the next day, of course the plates are empty.  Albeit it is probably consumed by the homeless, but all the same it makes us feel closer to our loved ones.  Till next time, abrazos y besos

  • Beautiful post as all you post. Thank you. God Bless always you and yours. Love Dorothy

  • All saints day came a little early to me this year. Since my uncle passed away and I visited India for the funeral, my family and I took time to visit my grandparents' village and graves. It was a beautiful experience to see the tiny house where they lived, to meet their friends and then to finally see their graves.

  • as always Michel, you touch us not only with your pictures but your words too.  what a blessing they both are and i thank you for sharing.  melinda

  • I love cemeteries.  So much history there.  Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos.  I've always loved All Saints Day.  A time to remember those to have passed on and to rejoice their journey to meet Christ.

    Thank you for such a lovely post, Michel! 

  • I remember visiting cemeteries and decorating the graves with flowers when I was a child.  It was very important for my grandparents, and my mother-in-law continues the tradition.  Sadly, most of my generation no longer continue this tradition.  I think, perhaps, we believe we carry our loved ones' memories in our hearts, and that they are no longer present in their caskets/cemetery plots. 

    The sharing of faith is important to me, also.  Like you, I try not to make others feel uncomfortable, but it's natural to wish to share those things which are important in one's life.

    Michel, since I am offering to mail postcards from Paris, I wonder if you would like a postcard from my homeland, here in Illinois, USA?  If you will email me your mailing address, I would be happy to do so, my friend.  Or I could telephone you when I am in France?  I dreamed this week that I telephoned you, and we had the nicest chat!  (In French!)  My closest friends in France have developed a "franglaise" language, happily mixed between the two!  chele_d1@yahoo.com is my email address.

  • What a beautiful blog! I love cemetaries. I don't want that to sound morbid. But they truly are a place of pure rest. They are a definition of everything that is sacred and powerful. Being that they are the last resting places for so many lives. So many struggles, joys. So much past and experience! Yes, I do love cemetaries. The ones in your picture look very majestic and gorgeous. Thanks for sharing the pics and your day with us.

    Also, I wish I could hear th ehyms that you sang. I bet they were amazing to hear. I can only imagine the goosebumps...

    How I wish I could have participated in such a day!

    Love

    Sarah

  • i've never witnessed an actual All saints day. I've only read about them, or heard about them. It's actually quite beautiful from your blog Micheal!! Even from your pictures, i can feel the emotions from it; "it is hopefull and sweet" like you said.
    every religion is beautiful.
    every person has their own beliefs.
    and everyone has their own faith that makes them whole.

    thank you for sharing that part of your life with us.
    MISSed YOU LOTS MICHEAL!!

    *hugs*
    Asnhoopla ;)

  • this was nice to read, michel.  i just found out this week that i lost a dear online friend.  she meant the world to me.  i can't wait to see her again.

  • What a beautiful posting!  I like to walk in small cemetaries that are kept mowed but are never decorated.  I talk to the spirits to let them know they're not forgotten. Isn't that strange?

  • i honour your sentimental and rich tradition. our family is our hearts story, whether we know it all or not. the more we seek to remember the better we remember ourselves. thank you for sharing!

  • What a lovely way to remember family.  I am not offended.  If all religions were to work together we would have no wars.

  • I love this!! EVERY day is a day for me to celebrate in my joy and hope and faith in my Lord Jesus Christ!!

  • Thank you for sharing your faith and traditions with us...I have been to Dia de las Muertos...in Central America..Guatemala to be specific. I now include this tradition in my courses...In France it seems to have a slightly different tenor to it...? I also enjoy visiting various cemetaries and pondering the lives of those..especially those  whose head stones seem a bit removed from the main or neglected in some way....Perhaps I am a bit morbid in some peoples eyes but I also enjoy making rubbings of the more eloquent head stones...Forgive me for my over exhuberance about the abbey...I recall now mentioning it...I have not heard of the Place you mentioned...You are a modest man perhaps but not a modest photographer...You and your wife have shared more of your country with us that anyone else I have ever known...I enjoy seeing parts of it I have no intimage aquaintance with and those places I know only from my own perspective...I love to get post cards from other places too...do you? I live in California..and have collected post cards since I was a child...If you would like one just e-mail me your address...Blessings dear ones your creative sharings are a joy to read and see*...((Wings))

  • My pc must be playing halloween jokes. I did comment and it is disappeared.
    Michel, it is a very good thing to do. Sometimes we are so taken in our lives that weforget our loved ones.
    I can not do what you did and I feel guilty about it.
    In Sardinia we left the table of food for the souls that could come to visit and leave there the most loved dishes.
    I don't know if they still do it.

    Amitié

    Carlo

  • Thank you for letting me celebrate with you! The photos are wonderful! I felt like I was walking with you and placeing flowers at the sites!  Thank you also ,Michel, for your kind comment on my site! No one knows the road each person must travel no one knows the pain each person must endure but to know others care is a great help. Thank you!

  • A very nice tradition, Michel. You needn't apologize for your beliefs-I am not Christian, but you don't offend me. It's the ones who preach everytime you're around them, they try to choke it down one's throat.

  • i think all saints day is a beautiful holiday =) wish it was more of one here in the US. hope today finds you well!

  • Wow!  Look at all those beautiful flowers!  This cemetary looks different from cemeteries I have seen in America.  I think it's wonderful that you have this holiday to remember your family members who have passed.  And that must have been a wonderful experience leading the choir. 

  • Thanks for posting. All respect given

  • Je voyageais en France le weekend du Jour Toussaint 1999.  J'ai bien appris qu'il ne faut pas voyager quand il y a un jour férié... les trains étaient remplis de tout le monde.

    m{eye}k

  • Thank you for sharing this lovely day.
    It is a great help to go and pray in front of your lost loved ones. We miss them so much. It is good to have a special day.

    I know this song Gaudeamus Omnes. very beautiful.

  • The trip to the grave sites is pretty cool. I don't even know where any of my family is buried.

  • That is so beautiful, Michel!  Thank you so much for sharing it dear friend! (((Love & Hugs)))

  • Never apologize for your beliefs.   =)  Those cemetaries are gorgeous.

    Have a blessed day!

    Michele

  • VOS TRADITIONS ET VOS CEREMONIES SONT UNE PARTIE DE VOTRE PATRIMOINE & VOTRE RELIGION!

  • This was so lovely to read and enjoy the pictures. Thank you so much, Michel. Someday I will be beside my husband and they won't find any flowers there, but in my heart, I know Stan and I will be remembered by those who loved us.

  • and a wonderfully shared day....

  • what a beautiful cemetary!!  I guess I don't really think of great memories when I go see somone who is gone...I should though..it's a wonderful tribute to that person...thank you for helping me remember that Michel!

    As for you faith....I am so happy you love Jesus and it looks like since I won't meet you in this life ....I will in our next! and I am very happy about that!!!

    God bless you and yours((HUGS))

  • It sounds sweet.

  • Beautiful flowers and a lovely blog, as always..

  • I really enjoy seeing your photo's of  France. The book of Gregorian songs looks fascinating.

  • I guess there should be some holiday at least once a year to remember the dearly departed.

  • Although their means of expression may not be universally shared, faith and hope themselves are universals. (And confusion of the two creates conflict much too often.) In friendship

  • I so enjoy your writing and the joyous spirit that exudes from your writing and pictures.  How I enjoy seeing the world through your eyes....my world so rural land small in a country half a world a way.....thank you kind sir!    Shanna

  • Hello, I thought I would drop by to visit today; I have seen your name at many of the other sites to which I subscribe, so I feel as though I know you somewhat!

    I hope that you don't think that my questions are rude, but are the resting places all aboveground?  This just looks so very different from our local cemeteries and I was wondering if that was the norm there.  I don't believe I have seen so many flowers at our cemeteries, either.

  • What a wonderful tradition this is, Michel. I think it's a mark or respect that these prayers are observed for those not with us anymore. Leaving flowers by the grave side is something I really should be doing more often for my ancestors. It shows we will always remember them, and what valuable qualities they passed on to us. Lovely post, Michel.

  • All Saints Day is also the birthday of my mother. She's a saint to me.

  • I'd love to hear you sing!

  • Beautiful post - I liked visiting the cemetery when I was in Poland on All Saints/All Souls seeing the cemetery at night with all of the candles that were lit was really special.  So were all the flowers and bouquets people put on the tombs.

    Yvonne

  • mmph... all saints day.. sorta become lost to us and becomes halloween and our church leaders always have a lot of talks with us around this time. HEHYHEY ur on featured content!!!! congrats~ neways.. we visit our family members' graves too... several times a year... but they're all like  u just see the pictures and names etc particulars and their ashes are behind that plague.. and next to it is another.. i think our concept isn't as strong as urs

  • Michel, I would be so brave to say that you are a saint! You have so many friends that love to visit here and leave such wonderful comments. You are truly blessed.

  • What a wonderful holiday to have... it is good to remember loved ones that have gone on before us. Your posting comes at a place and time in my life where funerals have become a frequent thing. It was so comforting reading this post it gave me much peace and hope. Thank you dear Michel for sharing your faith and your hope with us and for reminding me that there is always hope in Jesus. :hearts:

    Debbie

  • P.S. I agree with pussicat you are a saint!

  • All Saint's Day is a Holy Day Of Obligation here too. It's the day when we remember ALL the saints in Heaven, as everyone there is a saint. All Souls Day is when we remember the dead of our families. In our church we have a list ( Pious List ) of the family names of those who wish their dead to be remembered, this is in the porch so people can read it before they go into church. We have a Book of Remembrancein which the names of those who have died during the year ( Nov- Oct. ) are written. Sadly this year I had to add three names of priests who served at St. Bede's to it . I hope these traditions carry on when we " oldies " have reached our eternal reward. Marie

  • Look at all those beautiful flowers! Michel, your words are beautiful.

    Ranah

  • Very well done.

  • Merci Michel de m'avoir rappelé les jours où j'étais jeune fille et chantais avec le choir "Gaudeamus omnes in domino, diem festum celebrantes..." à la grande messe le dimanche de la Toussaints... Retrouver les mots e les notes de ce "mottetto" (ainsi on l'appelait en italien, si je rappelle bien) m'a  donné une grande émotion. (Et penser que je n'ai plus chanté depuis mille ans! )
    Lorsque nous étions petits notre mère à la Toussaints nous conduisait au cimetière avec un bouquet de crysanthèmes de notre jardin, et nous mettions une fleur sur chaque tombe qui semblait abandonnée... Encore aujourd'hui en allant au cimetière je me regarde autour, et je pose une fleur sur les tombes - même inconnues - qui n'ont pas de fleurs.
    C'est triste et doux de se rappeler de nos defunts.
    Donc, encore merci pour l'avoir fait ici!

  • Beautiful pictures and I love traditions when you stick to them. Have a good day.

  • Bonjour, Michel!

    From what I understand, All Saints Day is much like Day of the Dead that the Latins celebrate. It is where you pray for the dead, but celebrate the life that God has given you. I think it is great to do that, and I wish that more people got into doing that. I love how your cemetaries look...they have such a regal look to them.

    I am so glad to see a blog from you, and as always I found this to be fascinating. You guys don't celebrate Halloween, correct? Just All Saints Day? That might be a stupid question! Sorry!

    Have a wonderful week/weekend, my friend! God bless.

  • sounds like a wonderful tradition to me!

  • kool thats sweet !

    i personally think thats reala sweet

    visit my sit plz!

  • Thank you!!! Thank you for Believing!

  • I am not Christian, but hold enormous respect for your faith. Enjoyed your insights into your celebration. love and light, Boston

  • Michel, RYC, yes I do live in the United States but I was reared in Guatemala, C.A.

  • Michel, RYC, yes I do live in the United States but I was reared in Guatemala, C.A.

  • Do all French cemetaries bury the departed above ground? I have never seen that before. I heard in Louisiana, USA, they use crypts because the coffins will float-but they are encased in buildings, so it looks very different. Do you know of a custom that suggests this way of tribute? Thanks!! I am always asking questions, huh? Sorry! hehe

  • it's a beautiful post Michel.

  • Magnifique cher Michel de partager avec nous cette belle tradition que vous pratiquez Janine et toi avec respects et joies.
    Je suis sûre que la musique dirigée par tes soins fut divine ! Je prêterai attention au chant dont tu nous parles, le fameux " Gaudeamus omnes ".
    Peut-être que je vais le trouver sur un ou l'autre cds de musique sacrée que nous avons ici.
    Amitiés

  • she had reasons, michel.  and now, i'm just trying to find out what happened.

    http://www.xanga.com/kaitija/378109307/item.html

  • yes, it's the new year for the hindus.

  • It is lovely to be strong in your faith and have traditions to bind you to your ancesters.  I regret that I do not have such traditions...but I do rejoice in the world our God has created

  • Thank you so much for stopping by and for your kind words, Michel.  I'm always so glad to hear from you, my friend!!  Hope you and your family have a great weekend!  (((Love & Hugs))  

  • I appreciate so much that you share these meaningful celebrations with us on Xanga.  It is good to stop and think back to those who have gone on before us.  To remember them with prayers and flowers is good for our own souls.  I look forward to the day when I will be reunited with my loved ones in Heaven. 

    Your friend,

    Carol Suzanne

  • You are so very complimentary--appreciate your visiting.

  • ce livre que vous avez, s'appelle-t-il "Liber Usualis"?  Si je suis correcte, c'est le livre dont j'étudiais le chant.

    Merci pour me suggerer ce "post." 

    je pense souvent à vous!  Amité

  • I'm very comforted to hear you speak of your faith. It assures me that I'll see you in heaven, even if I don't get to meet you on this side of heaven.

  • hey,Michel...

    Ca fait longtemps que je ne suis pas passee par chez toi(je peux te tutoyer??).

    Je suis contente de voir que tu as la foi!!j'emmene ma petite famille a l'eglise tous les dimanches et des fois le mercredi soir.

    A bientot!!

    Myriam

  • I also attended a beautiful mass on All Saints'.  Does this mean you are also Catholic like me, Michel?

    -matt

  • Your beliefs are'nt offensive, they are refreshing.

    Are those coffins above-ground? I think cemetaries are pretty.

  • At last a post from me. I used to visit Matt's relatives graves in England but all my family were cremated and their ashes scattered so i never have I have been to the crematorium where my Grandparents and my Mother were scattered but was never able to get to my father's before we left England as he lived a long way away but my brother sent me a photo of the place his ashes are scattered. matt and I have also paid for our cremations and as we are undeciders we are not having a funeral service as we don't want to think of out largish family all crying because people always seem to go to funerals even if they don't visit  when people are alive My Brother and his wife emigrated well after us and they have both been cremated out here and they had services although my brother was an atheist i don't go that far i am just a don't know even though so many people tell me to belireve I am not a catholic but Church of England christened as are my 4 children only a few of my Grandchildren have ever been christened so i guess we are an un holy mob living in an unhol;y land although i see a lot of cars outside the churches none of my elderly neighbours go and I don't know anyone who does. Nice to feel well enough tonight to visit a few perhaps i am getting over whatever I have had Lots of love Marjie P.S I always respect other peoples faiths, never knock them, in fact i admire that they can have them.

  • this is very interesting! we do not celebrate all saints day here...

  • Hey sweety  Paul is a school mate I grow up with him and his brother  there mom wanted a girl and i fill in she was my second mom so paul and steve are like brothers to me. God Bless

  • How incredibly lovely.

  • i'm not offended by your beliefs, everyone should have the right to believe in whatever they want. and i think that all saints day is a wonderful way to remember those we've lost. i love your pictures! have a great weekend.

  • When my first, very young, husband died I coudn't stay away from his grave. One day I began to tend the flowers in our yard that he was so proud to have grown and I was healed. Flowers and remembrance do become equal. You are such a good blogger with your pictures!

  • Yes, certainly xanga it not as much fun for me with Clara around. Perhaps soon she will have the time.

  • Thank you for sharing your faith with us. I think it is important to be able to share beliefs. You are such a busy man with your grandchildren, your gardening, your travels, and your choir directing. I don't know how you have time to do Xanga. I like the All Saints Day tradition in France. I am some distance from my parents' graves, but I make sure they are decorated, especially for Christmas.

  • It's my faith, too. I think it is important to share faith. I think sharing helps it to grow stronger. It is also an invitation to participate in faith. Some people who currently are not practicing a faith just need an invitation.

    I also think it is very important to remember those who have gone before us. My family is buried a very long way from here. so I do not visit my graves very often. My mother was quite faithful about visiting all the family graves during her life. It makes me sad that there is nobody there to visit her.

    Thanks for sharing your customs.

  • When I was a kid my mother made us go to church on All Saints Day but over time this faded. I spent a lot of my youth serving as an alter boy. Because of the small congregation my brother and I served the majority of all masses. I think more effort to remember the dead is done on Labor Day and Memorial Day here. It was good to hear from you. I have been keeping busy with my family. It's been a long time since I have visited the graves of any of my passed family. We are spread so far apart though it is not practical.

  • My Father is a Deacon in the Church of Christ here in Nashville. I think your custom and worship is lovely. I have an more universal love and understanding of God than my parents do. But I have to say they both have changed their thinking so much. (which is good)  Michel all of your pictures have such truth and beauty in them. I enjoy your site so much. As for mine, I'm taking a leave of absence again. Will be back again the first of the year maybe.

    Love,    Brenda

     

  • Back on the East coast where I grew up we decorated graves on Memorial Day. Here it is more often. Peaceful places.

  • as always ...thank you for so beautifuly sharing your belief as well as the lovely pictures. Thank you also for telling us about the tradition of visiting your departed folks. It is something new I learnt today .... :)

  • My family celebrates that too in Poland, and I went to Mass that day.

    ~*Sazzy*~

  • Do you think there are any spiders that are Saints?

  • This is a beautiful tradition. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us.

  • I hope you are not affected by the Paris riots. ((Hugs))

  • Hi :) I found your site through featured content... I enjoyed reading your posts! And it's also good practice for my French ;)

  • I have been thinking of my Grandpa a lot lately. I miss him so much. His burial site is about 7 hours from where I live. Next spring I'm going to drive up there to spend time with him. Travelling there during winter is really bad because of the snow and ice.

    What a wonderful thing for you to do. The sites are so beautiful and peaceful. I think it's great that you and Janine can do this.

    I sure hope you are well! Think of you a lot! I keep the castle calendar you gave me a couple of years ago up on my wall. And the post cards you have sent!

  • It's a lovely tradition that you have!  And I'm totally fascinated by that photo of the music book.

    The Maroubra project is nothing more than me photographing the suburb of Maroubra in the time I've been living here (18 months).  I think it's a really interesting place, very picturesque at the beach but I haven't done much photography away from the beach.  I would have done more but there have been months and months where I've been stuck at the computer in my hours away from work, trying to write my Masters thesis.  I just can't wait for that Masters to be finished.

  • That is wonderful Michel.   It reminds me of our Memorial Day.  Your faith is an inspiration

  • Le Toussaint est une belle tradition de donner le respect à la famille qui n'est plus là. Les chinois ont la même tradition en september du calendrier de lune.
    Les cimitières ont l'air specials car chaque tombeau est élevé--je n'en jamais vu.
    Amitiés

  • This is a touching blog, We should tell our beliefs, because that is how we live.

  • What do you mean by your email?

  • RYC I posted this as a way of healing my heart-felt injury. I hope you understand. I am doing fine now. I am so glad you are my friend!!!!

    Have a lovely Monday!!!!

  • Yep. That's me.

  • My mother was born on November 1st.  She jokingly would say that she was no saint and should have been born on Halloween instead.

    I love the tradition you have on All Saints Day.  Do you include your grandchildren in this as well?  Traditions tend to get lost with all the things we keep ourselves busy with these days.   

    You had asked about how we sell our magazine...we have a website... http://www.makingithomemagazine.com that people can subscribe using paypal or by sending us a check.  We currently have over 250 subscribers and would love to send to our friends overseas but the cost to mail out is very high.  We are working on something now so that we can mail out overseas.

    We have less than 7 days now until we move.  My computer will be shut down on Wednesday night and I won't have online access until November 28th.  At first I thought this a very long time but I will be busy getting my house in order and with Thanksgiving coming up...I don't think I will miss being online that much!  :O)

    My love to you and Janine!

    xoxo Cat

  • We had a great time at our bonfire last night but I forgot my camera . The fireworks went on for over a hour. We disturb all Mum's neighbours .

  • Chantez pour tous!

  • Chantez pour tous!

  • A lovely post! All Saints Day is the day my youngest daughter was born. We rejoice in many ways on November 1!

  • Thanks! It was good! Are you Catholic too?

    ~*Sazzy*~

  • Your above-the-ground cemetaries are beautiful.  The only place in the U.S. that I know has them is New Orleans.  We don't really have special days to decorate our graves. Perhaps Memorial Day---when we often decorate soldier's graves.  But because it is at a time (end of May) when we can plant our gardens, people usually decorate and plant flowers at family gravesites then, too.

    My mother was cremated, but I purchased a tiny urn--about 3 inches tall, and had a little bit of her ashes put in it, and brought it home.  I have it on a shelf among all the angels of hers I brought home from her house.  So I feel she is here with me at all times.

    Beautiful song book.  Do you have many antiques??  I know about the clock.  So gorgeous.

  • France has such beautiful traditions.  i wish the us was a bit more like it...we get so wrapped up in the scientific world.

    i play a nubian slave in aida.  its a musical based on the opera by verdi.

    <3ashera

  • I hope the rioting has not affected you.  Please let us all know you are safe!

  • beautiful post!

  • I keep seeing on the news the continuous riots all over france right now. I hope you're safe where you are.

  • The contest has started so please come back by to vote. BTW waiting anxiously for a new post from you as I find your posts so interesting. Have a lovely week.

    Tami

  • How are you doing with all of the problems that are occuring in France?
    I'm so saddened by the violence.

  • The above ground crypts remind me of New Orleans.  So pretty.

  • In Mexico, and to some degree in the Southwest, there is a holiday called Dias de las Muerte. Day of the Dead, in which you honor your deceased by offering food, and setting up photographs and favorite objects. In Mexico this is especially colorful with paper mache skeletons and sugar skulls!
    Stay safe Michel, I've been reading about all the unrest in France.

  • how beautiful Michael  and the song is also very fitting for these days  robes are being washed   i would imagine yours is glowing white and fully energetic   or  so it feels to me  through the words through wires  ihope this lovely site is not ruinedby the unrest over there    blessings to you  and your family  love  magi

  • I love your posts, they're always a highlight when i read my subscriptions!

    And i do hope you are safe with everything going on over there now, take care!

  • ".I hope this will end quickly "    as do I     I keep the faith  but every now and again I must take a good look around  God Bless Michael       have a refreshing rest    love  magi

  • You shall be missed...although I do understand your need to take a break.  I hope to back in the next few weeks as well;  I am just not sure how long it will take for us to get our phone lines and internet set up.  Take care dear friend.

    Karen

  • yes, nubians are traditionally black, but i dont live in a very diverse community and so i end up using a lot of fake tanner and dark makeup.  in the end i look somewhat hispanic!

    i will miss your posts while you take some time off, but too much time staring at a monitor is never good.
    i hope your eyes feel better!

    <3ashera

  • Your letter is in the mail, my friend, I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed writing it!

    With much affection,

    Sojourner

  • Of course you're forgiven. Rest those eyes!

  • Hi michel! Wow this an interesting of all saint's day.. hehe I was planning to put that eh but I'm such a lazy er hehe.. Aww.. Thanks for calling me as an aspiring photographer.. I always do to that becoming the best Photographer.. I'd appreciate your comments, michel!

    I'm sure your eyesight goes normal... Get well! Au revoir!

    Love, Rina 

  • Restez les yeux bien :)

  • will be here when you return from your break.

  • Hi, Michel.  Thanks for your comment.  To answer your question, I go to Puerto Rico to do a ham radio contest.  It's fun, though it can be hard work and very challenging!  Actually, I go twice every November, the first weekend for a Morse code "contest" and the third weekend for a "microphone" contest.  So, I am back home now, waiting until my next trip, which is at the end of next week!

  • Those cemetaries look very beautiful and tranquil. Quite a spot to reflect upon the people who have moved on from this world. Probably a sad but sublime experience, going there to visit.

    Take care Faquet, and I hope your eyes feel better soon.

  • You should get your letter in about five days!! I hope you like it!

  • Take care of yourself (and your eyes).    Delra

  • come back to xanga soon, fauq.

  • All Saints day is special to me also...  You are such a kind man...

  • I am sorry to hear about the riots near Paris. I hope they cease soon. I love Paris as the song goes...

    "I love Paris,

     Why oh why do I love Paris?

     Because my heart is there!" 

  • no problem....hope you have a great break!

  • je te souhaite un bon repos, mon ami.

    A Decembre.

  • It will take quite a while for me to get through all of the comments.  Hope to have you back soon.  Love, Candy

  • Winter has finally come to the midwest, Michel. I welcome it for I like crisp cool weather. My fireplace is glowing here and I am at home in the world. I hope this finds you in warmth and comfort as well!

  • I do not think that anyone could be offended by your beautiful post. I would have liked to have been able to be there and heard the choir sing that beautiful, old song. I like learning about other religions and beliefs. I find your blog quite interesting.

    I hope that things are fine with you and your family. Everyone needs to take a break once in a while. I hope that you are enjoying yours and giving your eyes plenty of rest.

    Love Edie Rose

  • Rest Michel, take very good care of yourself. We'll be waiting!

  • Rest my friend and see you soon.

  • Thank you for the email, Michel. It is heartening to know you read my comments. Without Xanga and you wonderful friends, my life would be so empty. The first thing I do in the morning is turn this pc on. I make coffee and whilst it is perking, I come back and check on Xanga and find what you are doing and if not, to leave a note for you. The connection is priceless to me!

    Have a lovely weekend, Michel.

  • i hope your eyes are getting rest.  take care, michel!

  • Take care of yourself, my friend. I'll talk to you again when you return.

    Peace!

  • that's beautiful Michel, and nothing u write is ever offensive. You introduce us to many wonderful aspects taht we have not seen before. Thank you. And take care of the eyes. Will miss u. see u back here soon

  • How could anyone be offended by anything they read in your personal journal, Michel? It is your canvas to paint for us a vision of your soul. And I am so glad you do. Take care, my friend. Nancy

  • I hope all is well with you.

  • J'espère que vos yeux ont repris de toutes leurs forces, Michel. Merci de vos commentaires. Bravo pour la qualification des Bleus ! Le groupe a bien vécu le voyage en Martinique. Le sélectionneur doit renforcer l'animation sur les ailes et au milieu, dans le même temps que blinder la récupération.

    Il est important de rester connecté avec ses ancêtres. Mis à part avec la prière, je crois que les rendre visite de temps en temps nourrit l'esprit, tant le nôtre que le leur.

  • Salut!
    Quand j'etais tres petite, J'ai chante le chanson "Gaudeamus Hodie" (let us be joyful today) je l'aime bien.
    Je suis retournee! Ne t'inquiete pas!
    Amities,
    Clementine

  • i stopped by while browsing. i love the french language. i enjoyed reading the french and trying to translate. we celebrate All Saints Day, too. My parents died around this time of year 2 years ago and i think of them a lot. their graves are 2000 miles away so i miss visiting. thanks for the beautiful pictures.

  • Thinking of you, wishing you well!

  • Allo Michel, comment vas-tu? La fin du mois est proche, et l'espoir de te rencontrer à nouveau sur ces pages, comme promis, commence à devenir plus forte. J'espère que ta vue soit bien reposée, jusqu'à te permettre de revenir tôt chez nous, car j'ai l'impression que tu manques non seulement à moi, mais à beaucoup de gens. 
    A bientôt, j'espère!

    Ciao,
    Annalisa

  • Please read the post I put up today! I will email you as to the reason.

  • I think your faith is beautiful.  I admire anyone who truly believes and I don’t see how anyone could be offended by you speaking of your beliefs.  I really wish I believed…it would help me I think in many ways.
    I hope you’re doing well and are feeling rested.  You’re missed tremendously as always. 

  • Wow, I really like your tradition.  I have great respect for you in your endeavor to pay respect to others  Bon journee Michel.

    et aussi, je vous applaudis pour partager votre foi.

  • I have finished decorating the inside of my home. Since I won't be entertaining, it is for me and a celebration of Jesus' birthday. I like to be imaginative in what I put out so this year after I place the crèche on my buffet, instead of attaching a light above it, I placed a lovely plant there and hid a small light inside. It shines softly on the figures. I am quite pleased with that. In this room I have a small Christmas tree and tiny lights. Memories of the past flood in and I hear laughter and smell the food in the oven. I have been blessed. I am blessed.

  • Your wonderful city has made the headlines here in that a doctor had transplanted lips, nose and chin on a woman bitten by a dog. How proud I was to be able to say, "I know someone from Amiens!"

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

fauquet

taking care of what is around us

calendrier

November 2005
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930