February 7, 2002

  •                         Le petit coffre en bois .


      Récemment je visitais l ' atelier d ' un ami . Il disait que c ' était une pièce en désordre . En réalité elle ne l ' était pas . Mais cela me fit penser à un énorme travail que j ' eus à faire en Septembre 2000 . Après le pavement de notre cour l ' été précédent un petit coffre en bois avait été cassé . Il protégeait du froid le tuyau évacuant l ' eau quand l ' adoucisseur d ' eau était en cours de nettoyage . J ' avais à le refaire et normalement cela aurait dû être un petit travail .


      Mais à ce moment Je regardai une fois de plus la vieille étable ( pour chevaux ) que j ' utilisais comme garage et comme atelier : c ' était un local complètement en désordre . Vieux pots de peinture , vieux outils : pinces , cisailles , tenailles , ciseaux à bois , burins , différents équipements and choses obsolètes étaient dispersés , gisant n ' importe où sur les rayons , par terre au pied des murs . Il devenait difficile de marcher dans l ' écurie et presque impossible de rassembler les outils nécessaires pour commencer un quelconque travail . J ' étais incapable de faire quoi que ce soit .


      Donc , tout d ' abord , je décidais de ranger tout cela en utilisant une méthode scientifique . N ' étais - je point un scientifique ? Bonne idée ! Mais était - il possible de ranger quelque chose dans un local dont les murs étaient délabrés ? La plupart des joints des briques avaient disparu , transformés en poussière faisant une sorte de plage le long du pied de ces murs . J ' eus à rejointoyer et j ' utilisais 80 kg de mortier . Et je continuais ce travail de maçon  en fixant un établi sur le mur du fond .


      Cela fait , rien n ' était encore rangé . Je commençais à fixer au mur placards , rayonnages , meubles avec tiroirs sur lesquels je mettais des étiquettes avec lettres et chiffres . Je pus , enfin , faire un long inventaire et je mis chaque chose , y compris le plus petit clou ou vis , à une place bien localisée par une lettre et un chiffre . Puis avec mon ordinateur je créais une base de données comprenant 263 items . Je l ' affichais imprimée dans mon atelier . Ah ! ce sentiment d ' espace et le plaisir d ' avoir une pièce nette et bien rangée , où au premier coup d ' oeil vous touvez immédiatement ce que vous cherchez . Quelle joie !


      Après cela j ' eus à installer une lampe au - dessus de l ' établi . Pouvais -je travailler avec la lumière derrière mon dos ? Et j ' installais aussi une prise de courant avec terre . Tout cela me demanda beaucoup de réflexion , de travail et de temps puisque je ne suis pas un électricien . A la fin avec une scie électrique je pus fabriquer le petit coffre en bois , l ' installer , plein de laine de verre contre le tuyau d ' écoulement d ' eau . Je bouchai  les trous avec du mastic et le peignis .


     Vous voyez : combien de temps ( un mois ) et de travail pour une si petite chose . Parfois je me demande si tout le monde peut comprendre cela !                     


               The little wooden chest .


      Recently I visited a friend ' s workroom . He said it was a jumble room . In reality it was not . But this made me think of an enormous work I had to do in September 2000 . After the paving of our yard during the previous summer a little wooden chest had been broken . It isolated from cold the pipe dreaning the water when the softener was being cleaned . I had to remake it and normally it should be a little thing to do .


      But at this moment I looked once again at the old stable ( for horses ) I used as a garage and a workroom : it was a real jumble room . Old pots of paint , old tools : pliers , shears , tongs , chesel , burins , engines , different equipments and any derelicted things were scattered , lying anywhere on the shelves , on ground at the foot of walls . I became difficult to walk in the stable and almost impossible to get together the tools necessary to start any work . I was unable to make anything .


      So , at first , I decided to range all that in using a scientist method . Was not I a scientist ? Good idea ! But was it possible to range something in a room whose the walls were falling in decay ? The most of joints of the bricks had disappeared , transformated in dust making a kind of beach along the foot of these walls . I had to join again and I used 80 kg of mortar . And I continued this mason work with fixing a bench in the far end wall .


      That being made , anything was not ranged yet . I began to fix at the wall new cupboards , shelves , furnitures with drawers on wich I put labels with letter and number .At last I could do a long inventory and I put every thing , included the littlest nails and screws , in a place right located with letter and number . Then , with my computer I create a data base containing 263 items . I printed and placarded it in my workroom . Ah ! This feeling of space and this pleasure to see a clean and tidy room where at the first glance you find up immediatly what you search . What a joy !


      After that I had to install a lamp above the bench . Could I work with the light behind my back ? And I installed also a electric power point with earth at the bench . All that asks me much reflection , work and time as I am not an electrician . At last , with an electric saw I could make the wooden little chest , installed it, full with glass wool along the water pipe . I filled the holes with putty and painted .


      You see : how much time ( one month ) and work for a so little thing . Sometime I wonder if all the people can understand that ! ! ! 

Comments (23)

  • c'est tout a fait comprensible... parfois les plus petites choses nous rapellent de tout ce qu'il ya derriere et que doit etre fait... ca arrive a tout le monde

  • bravo!  i'm sure it's a wonderful little wooden chest...  and yes, fauquet, i'm pretty sure it IS wine, .  not the wonderfully aged stuff from where you are, but fermented grape juice nevertheless...

    ilymsc&f&x&c...

  • ...oh yes, I understand it very well. Having a home that required updating and restoration, I understand the principle it's not just the item of the moment but all that has to be done to in order to address the item!  MuSe

  • Oh yes, Dear Michel, I do understand. I have been suggesting to my dear Richard that he should organize his garages. I have my kitchen organized, so I can go to whatever without searching for an indefinate time for a tool I use to stir whatever is cooking. However, all I can do is live by example.

  • I understand, as well, Michel.  What you think may be a small project turns into an enormous one as you go along.  However, it a wonderful feeling of accomplishment when the work is complete, and you can see the finished product!

  • Nous avons une maxime, "Il est dur pour se souvenir de que votre but était de drainer le marais quand vous êtes jusqu'à vos fesses dans les alligators." Votre histoire fait me pense de ceci! Je suis sûr que la poitrine est charmante!

    We have a saying, "It is hard to remember that your goal was to drain the swamp when you are up to your butt in alligators."  Your story makes me think of this! I am sure the chest is lovely! teri ><>

  • For me, a jumble room is a treasure chest filled with memories and golden moments from half finished projects.

  • I really do understand this.  It's a rare thing to just complete one project without having to do so many other things to prepare for it. 

  • I understand Monsieur about the passion of putting a lot of work into a project.

  • Thank you for the comments!!!

    I'm sure it was lovely by the way. (the chest!)

    I love how you put everything in French and English on here. It certainly helps!!!!

  • Maybe you could come and sort out my office as you obviously have a knack for order.....and it would surely be a challenge...almost as hard as knitting!

  • Je me demande si vous aimez organiser des pièces(chambres) ? Pourquoi pas viennent chez moi ? J'ai 5 pièces(chambres) qui doivent être organisées. Vous serez dans le ciel.

       Je suis le pari vous pensez que je n'aime pas d'hommes ? Je fais. Je les aime. Leur délicieux.

    Sorry Michel.  I think Im in a sassy mood.

  • What a wonderful story! @--}--}-----

  • Michel,

    You inspire us again and again!!! Now, besides my project to crochet somehthing, I must also organize jumble areas of my home! this should not be too difficult since I am moving anyway. That is a 'necessary evil' when one moves to a new home.

    I have been hard at work to make the new place acceptable for my things to be brought into it.  What a mess the previous dwellers left there!  It is coming along though. This should please Mike as I will have my own space soon. We have less time as things are now, and that time is hectic with so many in the area of my computer.  It will be quite nice to have calm as we chat and soon he will be coming to visit!!! For this I shall try to have all the 'jumble' organized for sure!

    thank you my friend for sharing this remembrance with us!!

                                Deb

  • It might be hard going. but after all the work and effort you must be left with a wonderful feeling of achievment

  • wow, i love your site here, especially how everything's in freanch, but in english too. i took six years of french; this is the first year in a while that i haven't had classes in it, so i'm glad i found your site!  i'll definitely be back to try and see if i can keep up! 

  • I enjoy the treasure hunt in my jumble. I am trying to look through my attics of my mind and give away all I don't need at this time. Wonderful blog.

  • Wooden chest,une coffre en bois.
    It reminds me of a man who build a wooden boy,called Pinocchio.
    Je pense que la joie du resultat de la coffre soit la même que l'autre.
    Bien a toi, Michel and merci pour nous racconter des jolie choses.
    Tu le trouve ou le temp de faire tout ça et aussie d'ecrire sur Xanga?

  • Great story, great image you are a wordsmith.

  • I understand fully.  That is why I do so much, yet accomplish so little!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

fauquet

taking care of what is around us

calendrier

February 2002
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728